Skip to main content
added new test i had done
Source Link
Jim
  • 165
  • 2
  • 13

I am sitting next to my Windows 10 desktop running a remote login session from another computer. If I turn to the desktop that I'm remotely logged into and try to log in directly (requires CTRL-ALT-DEL), the screen remains blank (like it would if it were in power save mode, for example).

There are times when I can login directly without this problem, but I have not determined any cause, one way or the other, for this blank screen behavior.

So the computer is running, as I can use it from a remote desktop application, but it refuses to allow me to login directly or even see anything on the screen.

Things I've tried that have no effect:

  • directly logging in after logging out from the remote login
  • directly logging in while still logged in remotely
  • cycling the power to the monitors of the desktop computer
  • rebooting the computer - the problem returns later, so it's not a one-off event
  • pressing random keys on the desktop's keyboard UPDATED:
  • changing monitors, changing keyboard had no effect

This problem differs from the others described on Super User, such as

I have not seen any other questions that address a problem like this one.

I am sitting next to my Windows 10 desktop running a remote login session from another computer. If I turn to the desktop that I'm remotely logged into and try to log in directly (requires CTRL-ALT-DEL), the screen remains blank (like it would if it were in power save mode, for example).

There are times when I can login directly without this problem, but I have not determined any cause, one way or the other, for this blank screen behavior.

So the computer is running, as I can use it from a remote desktop application, but it refuses to allow me to login directly or even see anything on the screen.

Things I've tried that have no effect:

  • directly logging in after logging out from the remote login
  • directly logging in while still logged in remotely
  • cycling the power to the monitors of the desktop computer
  • rebooting the computer - the problem returns later, so it's not a one-off event
  • pressing random keys on the desktop's keyboard

This problem differs from the others described on Super User, such as

I have not seen any other questions that address a problem like this one.

I am sitting next to my Windows 10 desktop running a remote login session from another computer. If I turn to the desktop that I'm remotely logged into and try to log in directly (requires CTRL-ALT-DEL), the screen remains blank (like it would if it were in power save mode, for example).

There are times when I can login directly without this problem, but I have not determined any cause, one way or the other, for this blank screen behavior.

So the computer is running, as I can use it from a remote desktop application, but it refuses to allow me to login directly or even see anything on the screen.

Things I've tried that have no effect:

  • directly logging in after logging out from the remote login
  • directly logging in while still logged in remotely
  • cycling the power to the monitors of the desktop computer
  • rebooting the computer - the problem returns later, so it's not a one-off event
  • pressing random keys on the desktop's keyboard UPDATED:
  • changing monitors, changing keyboard had no effect

This problem differs from the others described on Super User, such as

I have not seen any other questions that address a problem like this one.

Source Link
Jim
  • 165
  • 2
  • 13

Windows 10 Login Screen is Blank - But Remote Desktop is Working

I am sitting next to my Windows 10 desktop running a remote login session from another computer. If I turn to the desktop that I'm remotely logged into and try to log in directly (requires CTRL-ALT-DEL), the screen remains blank (like it would if it were in power save mode, for example).

There are times when I can login directly without this problem, but I have not determined any cause, one way or the other, for this blank screen behavior.

So the computer is running, as I can use it from a remote desktop application, but it refuses to allow me to login directly or even see anything on the screen.

Things I've tried that have no effect:

  • directly logging in after logging out from the remote login
  • directly logging in while still logged in remotely
  • cycling the power to the monitors of the desktop computer
  • rebooting the computer - the problem returns later, so it's not a one-off event
  • pressing random keys on the desktop's keyboard

This problem differs from the others described on Super User, such as

I have not seen any other questions that address a problem like this one.