Skip to main content
deleted 17 characters in body
Source Link

To add a workaround solution for those of us that need and want to use WOL despite this incredibly long lasting bug that intel and microsoft don't care to fix, I give you my solution that entails turning wol off and then on early in the system wake process. I recommend you confirm that turning off wol "wake on magic packet" does in fact reduce your overzealous cpu usage. In my scenario, "wake on pattern match" is off.

I added a task to run a batch file on wake (log: system, source: kernel-power, event id: 131). Make sure to check: Run whether user is logged in or not and: Run with highest privileges.

The batch file is as follows (use your own paths):

powershell -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -File "C:\Users\%username%\Documents\woldisable.ps1"

pathping localhost -n -q 1 -p 50 > nul 2>&1

powershell -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -File "C:\Users\%username%\Documents\wolenable.ps1"

woldisable.ps1 is as follows (you may have to change the name: "Ethernet" is the default windows 10 name for a wired internet connection check under: Network and Internet Settings):

Set-NetAdapterAdvancedProperty -Name "Ethernet" -DisplayName "Wake on Magic Packet" -DisplayValue "Disabled" -NoRestart

wolenable.ps1 is as follows:

Set-NetAdapterAdvancedProperty -Name "Ethernet" -DisplayName "Wake on Magic Packet" -DisplayValue "Enabled"

I think potentially you could call a .ps1 file from the get go and bypass the batch but this is working for me so that is how I will leave it for now.

To add a workaround solution for those of us that need and want to use WOL despite this incredibly long lasting bug that intel and microsoft don't care to fix, I give you my solution that entails turning wol off and then on early in the system wake process. I recommend you confirm that turning off wol "wake on magic packet" does in fact reduce your overzealous cpu usage. In my scenario, "wake on pattern match" is off.

I added a task to run a batch file on wake (log: system, source: kernel-power, event id: 131). Make sure to check: Run whether user is logged in or not and: Run with highest privileges.

The batch file is as follows (use your own paths):

powershell -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -File "C:\Users\%username%\Documents\woldisable.ps1"

pathping localhost -n -q 1 -p 50 > nul 2>&1

powershell -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -File "C:\Users\%username%\Documents\wolenable.ps1"

woldisable.ps1 is as follows (you may have to change the name: "Ethernet" is the default windows 10 name for a wired internet connection check under: Network and Internet Settings):

Set-NetAdapterAdvancedProperty -Name "Ethernet" -DisplayName "Wake on Magic Packet" -DisplayValue "Disabled" -NoRestart

wolenable.ps1 is as follows:

Set-NetAdapterAdvancedProperty -Name "Ethernet" -DisplayName "Wake on Magic Packet" -DisplayValue "Enabled"

I think potentially you could call a .ps1 file from the get go and bypass the batch but this is working for me so that is how I will leave it for now.

To add a workaround solution for those of us that use WOL despite this incredibly long lasting bug that intel and microsoft don't care to fix, I give you my solution that entails turning wol off and then on early in the system wake process. I recommend you confirm that turning off wol "wake on magic packet" does in fact reduce your overzealous cpu usage. In my scenario, "wake on pattern match" is off.

I added a task to run a batch file on wake (log: system, source: kernel-power, event id: 131). Make sure to check: Run whether user is logged in or not and: Run with highest privileges.

The batch file is as follows (use your own paths):

powershell -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -File "C:\Users\%username%\Documents\woldisable.ps1"

pathping localhost -n -q 1 -p 50 > nul 2>&1

powershell -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -File "C:\Users\%username%\Documents\wolenable.ps1"

woldisable.ps1 is as follows (you may have to change the name: "Ethernet" is the default windows 10 name for a wired internet connection check under: Network and Internet Settings):

Set-NetAdapterAdvancedProperty -Name "Ethernet" -DisplayName "Wake on Magic Packet" -DisplayValue "Disabled" -NoRestart

wolenable.ps1 is as follows:

Set-NetAdapterAdvancedProperty -Name "Ethernet" -DisplayName "Wake on Magic Packet" -DisplayValue "Enabled"

I think potentially you could call a .ps1 file from the get go and bypass the batch but this is working for me so that is how I will leave it for now.

deleted 3 characters in body
Source Link

To add a workaround solution for those of us that need and want to use WOL despite this incredibly long lasting bug that intel and microsoft don't care to fix, I give you my solution that entails turning wol off and then on early in the system wake process. I recommend you confirm that turning off wol "wake on magic packet" does in fact reduce your overzealous cpu usage. In my scenario, "wake on pattern match" is off.

I added a task to run a batch file on wake (log: system, source: kernel-power, event id: 131). Make sure to check: Run whether user is logged in or not and: Run with highest privileges.

The batch file is as follows (use your own paths):

powershell -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -File "C:\Users\%username%\Documents\woldisable.ps1"

pathping localhost -n -q 1 -p 50 > nul 2>&1

powershell -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -File "C:\Users\%username%\Documents\wolenable.ps1"

woldisable.ps1 is as follows (you may have to change the name: "Ethernet" is the default windows 10 name for a wired internet connection check under: Network and Internet Settings):

Set-NetAdapterAdvancedProperty -Name "Ethernet" -DisplayName "Wake on Magic Packet" -DisplayValue "Disabled" -NoRestart

wolenable.ps1 is as follows:

Set-NetAdapterAdvancedProperty -Name "Ethernet" -DisplayName "Wake on Magic Packet" -DisplayValue "Enabled"

I think potentially you could call thea .ps1 filesfile from the get go and bypass the batch but this is working for me so that is how I will leave it for now.

To add a workaround solution for those of us that need and want to use WOL despite this incredibly long lasting bug that intel and microsoft don't care to fix, I give you my solution that entails turning wol off and then on early in the system wake process. I recommend you confirm that turning off wol "wake on magic packet" does in fact reduce your overzealous cpu usage. In my scenario, "wake on pattern match" is off.

I added a task to run a batch file on wake (log: system, source: kernel-power, event id: 131). Make sure to check: Run whether user is logged in or not and: Run with highest privileges.

The batch file is as follows (use your own paths):

powershell -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -File "C:\Users\%username%\Documents\woldisable.ps1"

pathping localhost -n -q 1 -p 50 > nul 2>&1

powershell -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -File "C:\Users\%username%\Documents\wolenable.ps1"

woldisable.ps1 is as follows (you may have to change the name: "Ethernet" is the default windows 10 name for a wired internet connection check under: Network and Internet Settings):

Set-NetAdapterAdvancedProperty -Name "Ethernet" -DisplayName "Wake on Magic Packet" -DisplayValue "Disabled" -NoRestart

wolenable.ps1 is as follows:

Set-NetAdapterAdvancedProperty -Name "Ethernet" -DisplayName "Wake on Magic Packet" -DisplayValue "Enabled"

I think potentially you could call the .ps1 files from the get go and bypass the batch but this is working for me so that is how I will leave it for now.

To add a workaround solution for those of us that need and want to use WOL despite this incredibly long lasting bug that intel and microsoft don't care to fix, I give you my solution that entails turning wol off and then on early in the system wake process. I recommend you confirm that turning off wol "wake on magic packet" does in fact reduce your overzealous cpu usage. In my scenario, "wake on pattern match" is off.

I added a task to run a batch file on wake (log: system, source: kernel-power, event id: 131). Make sure to check: Run whether user is logged in or not and: Run with highest privileges.

The batch file is as follows (use your own paths):

powershell -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -File "C:\Users\%username%\Documents\woldisable.ps1"

pathping localhost -n -q 1 -p 50 > nul 2>&1

powershell -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -File "C:\Users\%username%\Documents\wolenable.ps1"

woldisable.ps1 is as follows (you may have to change the name: "Ethernet" is the default windows 10 name for a wired internet connection check under: Network and Internet Settings):

Set-NetAdapterAdvancedProperty -Name "Ethernet" -DisplayName "Wake on Magic Packet" -DisplayValue "Disabled" -NoRestart

wolenable.ps1 is as follows:

Set-NetAdapterAdvancedProperty -Name "Ethernet" -DisplayName "Wake on Magic Packet" -DisplayValue "Enabled"

I think potentially you could call a .ps1 file from the get go and bypass the batch but this is working for me so that is how I will leave it for now.

added 6 characters in body
Source Link

To add a workaround solution for those of us that need and want to use WOL despite this incredibly long lasting bug that intel and microsoft don't care to fix, I give you my solution that entails turning wol off and then on early in the system wake process. I recommend you confirm that turning off wol "wake on magic packet" does in fact reduce your overzealous cpu usage. In my scenario, "wake on pattern match" is off.

I added a task to run a batch file on wake (log: system, source: kernel-power, event id: 131). Make sure to check: Run whether user is logged in or not and: Run with highest privileges.

The batch file is as follows (use your own paths):

powershell -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -File "C:\Users\%username%\Documents\woldisable.ps1"

pathping localhost -n -q 1 -p 50 > nul 2>&1

powershell -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -File "C:\Users\%username%\Documents\wolenable.ps1"

woldisable.ps1 is as follows (you may have to change the name: "Ethernet" is the default windows 10 name for a wired internet connection check under: Network and Internet Settings):

Set-NetAdapterAdvancedProperty -Name "Ethernet" -DisplayName "Wake on Magic Packet" -DisplayValue "Disabled" -NoRestart

wolenable.ps1 is as follows:

Set-NetAdapterAdvancedProperty -Name "Ethernet" -DisplayName "Wake on Magic Packet" -DisplayValue "Enabled"

I think potentially you could call the .ps1 files from the get go and bypass the batch but this is working for me so that is how I will leave it for now.

To add a workaround solution for those of us that need and want to use WOL despite this incredibly long lasting bug that intel and microsoft don't care to fix, I give you my solution that entails turning wol off and then on early in the system wake process. I recommend you confirm that turning off wol "wake on magic packet" does in fact reduce your overzealous cpu usage. In my scenario, "wake on pattern match" is off.

I added a task to run a batch file on wake (log: system, source: kernel-power, event id: 131). Make sure to check: Run whether user is logged in or not and: Run with highest privileges.

The batch file is as follows (use your own paths):

powershell -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -File "C:\Users\%username%\Documents\woldisable.ps1"

pathping localhost -n -q 1 -p 50 > nul 2>&1

powershell -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -File "C:\Users\%username%\Documents\wolenable.ps1"

woldisable.ps1 is as follows:

Set-NetAdapterAdvancedProperty -Name "Ethernet" -DisplayName "Wake on Magic Packet" -DisplayValue "Disabled" -NoRestart

wolenable.ps1 is as follows:

Set-NetAdapterAdvancedProperty -Name "Ethernet" -DisplayName "Wake on Magic Packet" -DisplayValue "Enabled"

To add a workaround solution for those of us that need and want to use WOL despite this incredibly long lasting bug that intel and microsoft don't care to fix, I give you my solution that entails turning wol off and then on early in the system wake process. I recommend you confirm that turning off wol "wake on magic packet" does in fact reduce your overzealous cpu usage. In my scenario, "wake on pattern match" is off.

I added a task to run a batch file on wake (log: system, source: kernel-power, event id: 131). Make sure to check: Run whether user is logged in or not and: Run with highest privileges.

The batch file is as follows (use your own paths):

powershell -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -File "C:\Users\%username%\Documents\woldisable.ps1"

pathping localhost -n -q 1 -p 50 > nul 2>&1

powershell -ExecutionPolicy Bypass -File "C:\Users\%username%\Documents\wolenable.ps1"

woldisable.ps1 is as follows (you may have to change the name: "Ethernet" is the default windows 10 name for a wired internet connection check under: Network and Internet Settings):

Set-NetAdapterAdvancedProperty -Name "Ethernet" -DisplayName "Wake on Magic Packet" -DisplayValue "Disabled" -NoRestart

wolenable.ps1 is as follows:

Set-NetAdapterAdvancedProperty -Name "Ethernet" -DisplayName "Wake on Magic Packet" -DisplayValue "Enabled"

I think potentially you could call the .ps1 files from the get go and bypass the batch but this is working for me so that is how I will leave it for now.

added 6 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
Source Link
Loading