Skip to main content
added 6 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link

As soon as I got WSL2 on my Windows PC, I installed an adapted CentOS 8.2 version. As I explored it, I found that I could read and write in the host's NTFS file system out of the box. It was also connected to the Internet but I couldn't figure out a way of managing the connection; I could install Network Manager but then I would get a Could not create NMClient object whenever I run nmcli command. I didn't find SELinux (getenforcegetenforce). I installed firewalld but then firewall-cmd would throw Failed to connect to socket /run/dbus/system_bus_socket. systemctl gives an error System has not been booted with systemd... I then learned that a "Fedora Remix for WSL" was being offered, for $9.99 on the Windows app store with the note:

The following packages have been removed from the default install of Fedora Remix for WSL: grub, plymouth, kernel, sssd, linux-firmware, dracut, parted, e2fsprogs, iprutils, ppc64-utils, selinux-policy, policycoreutils, sendmail, firewalld, fedora-release, fedora-logos, and fedora-release-notes.

So, the main question: How is Linux functionality limited by WSL?

Then, what we are interested is obviously how to get around them: First worry I have: Is the connection to the Internet safe? It looks to me that there's no firewall stopping people getting into my host PC if they can connect to my WSL Linux via some service. Regarding what I wrote above: Why am I getting that error with nmclinmcli? Is it anyhow possible to get SELinux running? Is it anyhow possible to manage units as one does with systemctlsystemctl?

As soon as I got WSL2 on my Windows PC, I installed an adapted CentOS 8.2 version. As I explored it, I found that I could read and write in the host's NTFS file system out of the box. It was also connected to the Internet but I couldn't figure out a way of managing the connection; I could install Network Manager but then I would get a Could not create NMClient object whenever I run nmcli command. I didn't find SELinux (getenforce). I installed firewalld but then firewall-cmd would throw Failed to connect to socket /run/dbus/system_bus_socket. systemctl gives an error System has not been booted with systemd... I then learned that a "Fedora Remix for WSL" was being offered, for $9.99 on the Windows app store with the note:

The following packages have been removed from the default install of Fedora Remix for WSL: grub, plymouth, kernel, sssd, linux-firmware, dracut, parted, e2fsprogs, iprutils, ppc64-utils, selinux-policy, policycoreutils, sendmail, firewalld, fedora-release, fedora-logos, and fedora-release-notes.

So, the main question: How is Linux functionality limited by WSL?

Then, what we are interested is obviously how to get around them: First worry I have: Is the connection to the Internet safe? It looks to me that there's no firewall stopping people getting into my host PC if they can connect to my WSL Linux via some service. Regarding what I wrote above: Why am I getting that error with nmcli? Is it anyhow possible to get SELinux running? Is it anyhow possible to manage units as one does with systemctl?

As soon as I got WSL2 on my Windows PC, I installed an adapted CentOS 8.2 version. As I explored it, I found that I could read and write in the host's NTFS file system out of the box. It was also connected to the Internet but I couldn't figure out a way of managing the connection; I could install Network Manager but then I would get a Could not create NMClient object whenever I run nmcli command. I didn't find SELinux (getenforce). I installed firewalld but then firewall-cmd would throw Failed to connect to socket /run/dbus/system_bus_socket. systemctl gives an error System has not been booted with systemd... I then learned that a "Fedora Remix for WSL" was being offered, for $9.99 on the Windows app store with the note:

The following packages have been removed from the default install of Fedora Remix for WSL: grub, plymouth, kernel, sssd, linux-firmware, dracut, parted, e2fsprogs, iprutils, ppc64-utils, selinux-policy, policycoreutils, sendmail, firewalld, fedora-release, fedora-logos, and fedora-release-notes.

So, the main question: How is Linux functionality limited by WSL?

Then, what we are interested is obviously how to get around them: First worry I have: Is the connection to the Internet safe? It looks to me that there's no firewall stopping people getting into my host PC if they can connect to my WSL Linux via some service. Regarding what I wrote above: Why am I getting that error with nmcli? Is it anyhow possible to get SELinux running? Is it anyhow possible to manage units as one does with systemctl?

Source Link

How does WSL[2] pose limitations on a guest linux system?

As soon as I got WSL2 on my Windows PC, I installed an adapted CentOS 8.2 version. As I explored it, I found that I could read and write in the host's NTFS file system out of the box. It was also connected to the Internet but I couldn't figure out a way of managing the connection; I could install Network Manager but then I would get a Could not create NMClient object whenever I run nmcli command. I didn't find SELinux (getenforce). I installed firewalld but then firewall-cmd would throw Failed to connect to socket /run/dbus/system_bus_socket. systemctl gives an error System has not been booted with systemd... I then learned that a "Fedora Remix for WSL" was being offered, for $9.99 on the Windows app store with the note:

The following packages have been removed from the default install of Fedora Remix for WSL: grub, plymouth, kernel, sssd, linux-firmware, dracut, parted, e2fsprogs, iprutils, ppc64-utils, selinux-policy, policycoreutils, sendmail, firewalld, fedora-release, fedora-logos, and fedora-release-notes.

So, the main question: How is Linux functionality limited by WSL?

Then, what we are interested is obviously how to get around them: First worry I have: Is the connection to the Internet safe? It looks to me that there's no firewall stopping people getting into my host PC if they can connect to my WSL Linux via some service. Regarding what I wrote above: Why am I getting that error with nmcli? Is it anyhow possible to get SELinux running? Is it anyhow possible to manage units as one does with systemctl?