Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1274175367725670405
added 40 characters in body
Source Link
Franck Dernoncourt
  • 21.8k
  • 55
  • 215
  • 358

How can I detect what causes Chrome to open a tab for "http://eaes.2track.info/" each time I search something in the address bar?

Interestingly this only happens for the first few searches I do after starting the Windows. Afterward it doesn't open a tab for "http://eaes.2track.info/" anymore.


Some details:

  • I use Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate.
  • I don't see anything suspicious in Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Programs and Features. Only Chrome is affected: Internet Explorer and Firefox are fine. Chrome with incognito mode is also working fine.
  • Avast isn't complaining about anything
  • Looking at chrome://settings/searchEngines, the address bar useuses Google with {google:baseURL}search?q=%s&{google:RLZ}{google:originalQueryForSuggestion}{google:assistedQueryStats}{google:searchFieldtrialParameter}{google:iOSSearchLanguage}{google:searchClient}{google:sourceId}{google:contextualSearchVersion}ie={inputEncoding}, which seems fine to me. enter image description here
  • I have noticed a few bookmark icons changing to enter image description here (WM is expected, but the icon before it changed).
  • Running chrome://settings/safetyCheck doesn't show any issue with the extensions.
  • C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc just contains one line of NUL characters (probably got nuked by some non-malicious crapware some time ago).
  • I have the extension "Auto Refresh" (ID=ifooldnmmcmlbdennkpdnlnbgbmfalko) but it isn't loaded. I assume this means it doesn't run.

enter image description here

How can I detect what causes Chrome to open a tab for "http://eaes.2track.info/" each time I search something in the address bar?

Interestingly this only happens for the first few searches I do after starting the Windows. Afterward it doesn't open a tab for "http://eaes.2track.info/" anymore.


Some details:

  • I use Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate.
  • I don't see anything suspicious in Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Programs and Features. Only Chrome is affected: Internet Explorer and Firefox are fine. Chrome with incognito mode is also working fine.
  • Avast isn't complaining about anything
  • Looking at chrome://settings/searchEngines, the address bar use Google with {google:baseURL}search?q=%s&{google:RLZ}{google:originalQueryForSuggestion}{google:assistedQueryStats}{google:searchFieldtrialParameter}{google:iOSSearchLanguage}{google:searchClient}{google:sourceId}{google:contextualSearchVersion}ie={inputEncoding}, which seems fine to me. enter image description here
  • I have noticed a few bookmark icons changing to enter image description here (WM is expected, but the icon before it changed).
  • Running chrome://settings/safetyCheck doesn't show any issue with the extensions.
  • C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc just contains one line of NUL characters (probably got nuked by some non-malicious crapware some time ago).
  • I have the extension "Auto Refresh" but it isn't loaded. I assume this means it doesn't run.

enter image description here

How can I detect what causes Chrome to open a tab for "http://eaes.2track.info/" each time I search something in the address bar?

Interestingly this only happens for the first few searches I do after starting the Windows. Afterward it doesn't open a tab for "http://eaes.2track.info/" anymore.


Some details:

  • I use Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate.
  • I don't see anything suspicious in Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Programs and Features. Only Chrome is affected: Internet Explorer and Firefox are fine. Chrome with incognito mode is also working fine.
  • Avast isn't complaining about anything
  • Looking at chrome://settings/searchEngines, the address bar uses Google with {google:baseURL}search?q=%s&{google:RLZ}{google:originalQueryForSuggestion}{google:assistedQueryStats}{google:searchFieldtrialParameter}{google:iOSSearchLanguage}{google:searchClient}{google:sourceId}{google:contextualSearchVersion}ie={inputEncoding}, which seems fine to me. enter image description here
  • I have noticed a few bookmark icons changing to enter image description here (WM is expected, but the icon before it changed).
  • Running chrome://settings/safetyCheck doesn't show any issue with the extensions.
  • C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc just contains one line of NUL characters (probably got nuked by some non-malicious crapware some time ago).
  • I have the extension "Auto Refresh" (ID=ifooldnmmcmlbdennkpdnlnbgbmfalko) but it isn't loaded. I assume this means it doesn't run.

enter image description here

added 184 characters in body
Source Link
Franck Dernoncourt
  • 21.8k
  • 55
  • 215
  • 358

How can I detect what causes Chrome to open a tab for "http://eaes.2track.info/" each time I search something in the address bar?

Interestingly this only happens for the first few searches I do after starting the Windows. Afterward it doesn't open a tab for "http://eaes.2track.info/" anymore.


Some details:

  • I use Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate.
  • I don't see anything suspicious in Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Programs and Features. Only Chrome is affected: Internet Explorer and Firefox are fine. Chrome with incognito mode is also working fine.
  • Avast isn't complaining about anything
  • Looking at chrome://settings/searchEngines, the address bar use Google with {google:baseURL}search?q=%s&{google:RLZ}{google:originalQueryForSuggestion}{google:assistedQueryStats}{google:searchFieldtrialParameter}{google:iOSSearchLanguage}{google:searchClient}{google:sourceId}{google:contextualSearchVersion}ie={inputEncoding}, which seems fine to me. enter image description here
  • I have noticed a few bookmark icons changing to enter image description here (WM is expected, but the icon before it changed).
  • Running chrome://settings/safetyCheck doesn't show any issue with the extensions.
  • C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc just contains one line of NUL characters (probably got nuked by some non-malicious crapware some time ago).
  • I have the extension "Auto Refresh" but it isn't loaded. I assume this means it doesn't run.

enter image description here

How can I detect what causes Chrome to open a tab for "http://eaes.2track.info/" each time I search something in the address bar?

Interestingly this only happens for the first few searches I do after starting the Windows. Afterward it doesn't open a tab for "http://eaes.2track.info/" anymore.


Some details:

  • I use Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate.
  • I don't see anything suspicious in Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Programs and Features. Only Chrome is affected: Internet Explorer and Firefox are fine. Chrome with incognito mode is also working fine.
  • Avast isn't complaining about anything
  • Looking at chrome://settings/searchEngines, the address bar use Google with {google:baseURL}search?q=%s&{google:RLZ}{google:originalQueryForSuggestion}{google:assistedQueryStats}{google:searchFieldtrialParameter}{google:iOSSearchLanguage}{google:searchClient}{google:sourceId}{google:contextualSearchVersion}ie={inputEncoding}, which seems fine to me. enter image description here
  • I have noticed a few bookmark icons changing to enter image description here (WM is expected, but the icon before it changed).
  • Running chrome://settings/safetyCheck doesn't show any issue with the extensions.
  • C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc just contains one line of NUL characters (probably got nuked by some non-malicious crapware some time ago).

How can I detect what causes Chrome to open a tab for "http://eaes.2track.info/" each time I search something in the address bar?

Interestingly this only happens for the first few searches I do after starting the Windows. Afterward it doesn't open a tab for "http://eaes.2track.info/" anymore.


Some details:

  • I use Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate.
  • I don't see anything suspicious in Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Programs and Features. Only Chrome is affected: Internet Explorer and Firefox are fine. Chrome with incognito mode is also working fine.
  • Avast isn't complaining about anything
  • Looking at chrome://settings/searchEngines, the address bar use Google with {google:baseURL}search?q=%s&{google:RLZ}{google:originalQueryForSuggestion}{google:assistedQueryStats}{google:searchFieldtrialParameter}{google:iOSSearchLanguage}{google:searchClient}{google:sourceId}{google:contextualSearchVersion}ie={inputEncoding}, which seems fine to me. enter image description here
  • I have noticed a few bookmark icons changing to enter image description here (WM is expected, but the icon before it changed).
  • Running chrome://settings/safetyCheck doesn't show any issue with the extensions.
  • C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc just contains one line of NUL characters (probably got nuked by some non-malicious crapware some time ago).
  • I have the extension "Auto Refresh" but it isn't loaded. I assume this means it doesn't run.

enter image description here

added 149 characters in body
Source Link
Franck Dernoncourt
  • 21.8k
  • 55
  • 215
  • 358

How can I detect what causes Chrome to open a tab for "http://eaes.2track.info/" each time I search something in the address bar?

Interestingly this only happens for the first few searches I do after starting Chromethe Windows. Afterward it doesn't open a tab for "http://eaes.2track.info/" anymore.


Some details:

  • I use Microsoft Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate.
  • I don't see anything suspicious in Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Programs and Features. Only Chrome is affected: Internet Explorer and Firefox are fine. Chrome with incognito mode is also working fine.
  • Avast isn't complaining about anything
  • Looking at chrome://settings/searchEngines, the address bar use Google with {google:baseURL}search?q=%s&{google:RLZ}{google:originalQueryForSuggestion}{google:assistedQueryStats}{google:searchFieldtrialParameter}{google:iOSSearchLanguage}{google:searchClient}{google:sourceId}{google:contextualSearchVersion}ie={inputEncoding}, which seems fine to me. enter image description here
  • I have noticed a few bookmark icons changing to enter image description here (WM is expected, but the icon before it changed).
  • Running chrome://settings/safetyCheck doesn't show any issue with the extensions.
  • C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc just contains one line of NUL characters (probably got nuked by some non-malicious crapware some time ago).

How can I detect what causes Chrome to open a tab for "http://eaes.2track.info/" each time I search something in the address bar?

Interestingly this only happens for the first few searches I do after starting Chrome. Afterward it doesn't open a tab for "http://eaes.2track.info/" anymore.


Some details:

  • I use Microsoft Windows 7.
  • I don't see anything suspicious in Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Programs and Features. Only Chrome is affected: Internet Explorer and Firefox are fine. Chrome with incognito mode is also working fine.
  • Avast isn't complaining about anything
  • Looking at chrome://settings/searchEngines, the address bar use Google with {google:baseURL}search?q=%s&{google:RLZ}{google:originalQueryForSuggestion}{google:assistedQueryStats}{google:searchFieldtrialParameter}{google:iOSSearchLanguage}{google:searchClient}{google:sourceId}{google:contextualSearchVersion}ie={inputEncoding}, which seems fine to me. enter image description here
  • I have noticed a few bookmark icons changing to enter image description here (WM is expected, but the icon before it changed).
  • Running chrome://settings/safetyCheck doesn't show any issue with the extensions.

How can I detect what causes Chrome to open a tab for "http://eaes.2track.info/" each time I search something in the address bar?

Interestingly this only happens for the first few searches I do after starting the Windows. Afterward it doesn't open a tab for "http://eaes.2track.info/" anymore.


Some details:

  • I use Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate.
  • I don't see anything suspicious in Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Programs and Features. Only Chrome is affected: Internet Explorer and Firefox are fine. Chrome with incognito mode is also working fine.
  • Avast isn't complaining about anything
  • Looking at chrome://settings/searchEngines, the address bar use Google with {google:baseURL}search?q=%s&{google:RLZ}{google:originalQueryForSuggestion}{google:assistedQueryStats}{google:searchFieldtrialParameter}{google:iOSSearchLanguage}{google:searchClient}{google:sourceId}{google:contextualSearchVersion}ie={inputEncoding}, which seems fine to me. enter image description here
  • I have noticed a few bookmark icons changing to enter image description here (WM is expected, but the icon before it changed).
  • Running chrome://settings/safetyCheck doesn't show any issue with the extensions.
  • C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc just contains one line of NUL characters (probably got nuked by some non-malicious crapware some time ago).
Source Link
Franck Dernoncourt
  • 21.8k
  • 55
  • 215
  • 358
Loading