Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 25, 2010 at 21:46 comment added Tobu aufs2 is what's used for union mounts in ubuntu livecds IIRC.
Jun 25, 2010 at 19:44 comment added cheshirekow Ok, I'm un-answering this. UnionFS, it seems, is only a half answer. It does mostly what I want, but it appears that you can't unionfs two directories together, and then mount the union to one of the two.. which is what I would need. One way (possibly) to finish the answer would be to do something with a chroot? i.e. create a fakeroot as the union of the roots of each drive, and then chroot into that. Will this work? I don't know how to use chroot.
Jun 24, 2010 at 19:15 comment added cheshirekow So it appears that UnionFS was dropped from ubuntu since Karmic and replaced with unionfs-fuse (a fuse implementation rather than a kernal module). I like the idea of a kernel module better but this seems to be working quite well. This is, at least, exactly what I wanted so thanks for the good answer :).
Jun 24, 2010 at 19:14 vote accept cheshirekow
Jun 25, 2010 at 19:42
Jun 24, 2010 at 16:01 comment added cheshirekow Yeah, that's what I figured would be the problem. At first glance, UnionFS looks like it might work very well. I'll see if I can give that a try.
Jun 23, 2010 at 0:40 history answered Florian Diesch CC BY-SA 2.5