Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • Yeah, that's what I figured would be the problem. At first glance, UnionFS looks like it might work very well. I'll see if I can give that a try. Commented Jun 24, 2010 at 16:01
  • So it appears that UnionFS was dropped from ubuntu since Karmic and replaced with unionfs-fuse (a fuse implementation rather than a kernal module). I like the idea of a kernel module better but this seems to be working quite well. This is, at least, exactly what I wanted so thanks for the good answer :). Commented Jun 24, 2010 at 19:15
  • Ok, I'm un-answering this. UnionFS, it seems, is only a half answer. It does mostly what I want, but it appears that you can't unionfs two directories together, and then mount the union to one of the two.. which is what I would need. One way (possibly) to finish the answer would be to do something with a chroot? i.e. create a fakeroot as the union of the roots of each drive, and then chroot into that. Will this work? I don't know how to use chroot. Commented Jun 25, 2010 at 19:44
  • aufs2 is what's used for union mounts in ubuntu livecds IIRC.
    – Tobu
    Commented Jun 25, 2010 at 21:46