Skip to main content
deleted 1 character in body; edited title
Source Link
spikey_richie
  • 9.1k
  • 2
  • 27
  • 48

COM port in WindownWindows 10

I understand that the COM port is a serial communication port inside a computer.

But in my windows 10 laptop, I don't see any COM port connected.

If I go to the control panel -> Device manager, I see Intel active management technology as a COM port (3).

My questions :

  1. What is the "Intel active management technology as a COM port (3)"  ?

  2. I have seen some videos, where the Arduino is connected via USB and when we check the device manager, there is a serial COM port of a different number? So, how is this COM port number assigned? And is there a USB to serial conversion (USB to UART) happening inside for this?

  3. On the whole, how many COM ports are there in a normal windowsWindows 10 64 bit-bit computer.

COM port in Windown 10

I understand that the COM port is a serial communication port inside a computer.

But in my windows 10 laptop, I don't see any COM port connected.

If I go to the control panel -> Device manager, I see Intel active management technology as a COM port (3).

My questions :

  1. What is the "Intel active management technology as a COM port (3)"  ?

  2. I have seen some videos, where the Arduino is connected via USB and when we check the device manager, there is a serial COM port of a different number? So, how is this COM port number assigned? And is there a USB to serial conversion (USB to UART) happening inside for this?

  3. On the whole, how many COM ports are there in a normal windows 10 64 bit computer.

COM port in Windows 10

I understand that the COM port is a serial communication port inside a computer.

But in my windows 10 laptop, I don't see any COM port connected.

If I go to the control panel -> Device manager, I see Intel active management technology as a COM port (3).

My questions :

  1. What is the "Intel active management technology as a COM port (3)"?

  2. I have seen some videos, where the Arduino is connected via USB and when we check the device manager, there is a serial COM port of a different number? So, how is this COM port number assigned? And is there a USB to serial conversion (USB to UART) happening inside for this?

  3. On the whole, how many COM ports are there in a normal Windows 10 64-bit computer.

Source Link
Freshman
  • 103
  • 1
  • 2

COM port in Windown 10

I understand that the COM port is a serial communication port inside a computer.

But in my windows 10 laptop, I don't see any COM port connected.

If I go to the control panel -> Device manager, I see Intel active management technology as a COM port (3).

My questions :

  1. What is the "Intel active management technology as a COM port (3)" ?

  2. I have seen some videos, where the Arduino is connected via USB and when we check the device manager, there is a serial COM port of a different number? So, how is this COM port number assigned? And is there a USB to serial conversion (USB to UART) happening inside for this?

  3. On the whole, how many COM ports are there in a normal windows 10 64 bit computer.