Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • What does exactly happen when you try to access the server name? (And does the name exist in DNS?) Commented May 3, 2020 at 18:19
  • When I try to access using the server name, I get a server not found error, the same as visiting any other invalid URL. I didn't change anything in DNS.
    – Kyle
    Commented May 4, 2020 at 1:05
  • I did some more digging after reading your comment and might know the issue. If I try to reach hostname.home.lan, I assume this is resolved in the router. And if I try to reach nextcloud.hostname.home.lan is the whole thing resolved in the router? In that case, I would need to update the router DNS to point the Nextcloud FQDN to the same hostname as the other FQDN.
    – Kyle
    Commented May 4, 2020 at 2:58
  • Yes, the entire domain name is resolved via DNS before it can even get to your Apache server. Subdomains are not automatic. Commented May 4, 2020 at 8:54