Skip to main content
Added more details
Source Link
Paolo
  • 11
  • 1
  • 4
  • OS: Windows 10 Build 18363
  • Laptop: Acer Aspire E5-475
  • SSD: Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe M.2
  • BIOS mode is UEFI

So following instructions on various websites, I installed my new SSD on my laptop. I used the Samsung Data Migration tool to clone my old HDD into the new SSD. I then changed the boot order in the BIOS and made sure the SSD was first.

In my first attempt, I didn't unplug my HDD which was apparently wrong. So I deleted everything on the new SSD with diskpart, and ran Samsung Data Migration again. This time, I unplugged the HDD and successfully booted into the SSD.

Seeing that I successfully cloned and booted into the new drive, I plugged the old HDD back in. When I turned my laptop on, I was back on the old HDD (I know because capacity is 1TB vs 250 GB for the SSD). I went back to the BIOS to check boot order, and SSD was on top.

What did I do wrong? Did I skip a step?

EDITED TO ADD I think I was able to narrow down the problem but I'm unsure how to resolve it. I enabled the boot menu through the BIOS and saw that Windows Boot Manager was the only option and it seems to only be on the old HDD.

  • OS: Windows 10 Build 18363
  • Laptop: Acer Aspire E5-475
  • SSD: Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe M.2
  • BIOS mode is UEFI

So following instructions on various websites, I installed my new SSD on my laptop. I used the Samsung Data Migration tool to clone my old HDD into the new SSD. I then changed the boot order in the BIOS and made sure the SSD was first.

In my first attempt, I didn't unplug my HDD which was apparently wrong. So I deleted everything on the new SSD with diskpart, and ran Samsung Data Migration again. This time, I unplugged the HDD and successfully booted into the SSD.

Seeing that I successfully cloned and booted into the new drive, I plugged the old HDD back in. When I turned my laptop on, I was back on the old HDD (I know because capacity is 1TB vs 250 GB for the SSD). I went back to the BIOS to check boot order, and SSD was on top.

What did I do wrong? Did I skip a step?

  • OS: Windows 10 Build 18363
  • Laptop: Acer Aspire E5-475
  • SSD: Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe M.2
  • BIOS mode is UEFI

So following instructions on various websites, I installed my new SSD on my laptop. I used the Samsung Data Migration tool to clone my old HDD into the new SSD. I then changed the boot order in the BIOS and made sure the SSD was first.

In my first attempt, I didn't unplug my HDD which was apparently wrong. So I deleted everything on the new SSD with diskpart, and ran Samsung Data Migration again. This time, I unplugged the HDD and successfully booted into the SSD.

Seeing that I successfully cloned and booted into the new drive, I plugged the old HDD back in. When I turned my laptop on, I was back on the old HDD (I know because capacity is 1TB vs 250 GB for the SSD). I went back to the BIOS to check boot order, and SSD was on top.

What did I do wrong? Did I skip a step?

EDITED TO ADD I think I was able to narrow down the problem but I'm unsure how to resolve it. I enabled the boot menu through the BIOS and saw that Windows Boot Manager was the only option and it seems to only be on the old HDD.

added 18 characters in body
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.1k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

OS: Windows 10 Build 18363

Laptop: Acer Aspire E5-475

SSD: Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe M.2

BIOS mode is UEFI

  • OS: Windows 10 Build 18363
  • Laptop: Acer Aspire E5-475
  • SSD: Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe M.2
  • BIOS mode is UEFI

So following instructions on various websites, I installed my new SSD on my laptop. I used the Samsung Data Migration tool to clone my old HDD into the new SSD. I then changed the boot order in the BIOS and made sure the SSD was first.

In my first attempt, I didn't unplug my HDD which was apparently wrong. So I deleted everything on the new SSD with diskpart, and ran Samsung Data Migration again. This time, I unplugged the HDD and successfully booted into the SSD.

Seeing that I successfully cloned and booted into the new drive, I plugged the old HDD back in. When I turned my laptop on, I was back on the old HDD (I know because capacity is 1TB vs 250 GB for the SSD). I went back to the BIOS to check boot order, and SSD was on top.

What did I do wrong? Did I skip a step?

OS: Windows 10 Build 18363

Laptop: Acer Aspire E5-475

SSD: Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe M.2

BIOS mode is UEFI

So following instructions on various websites, I installed my new SSD on my laptop. I used the Samsung Data Migration tool to clone my old HDD into the new SSD. I then changed the boot order in the BIOS and made sure the SSD was first.

In my first attempt, I didn't unplug my HDD which was apparently wrong. So I deleted everything on the new SSD with diskpart, and ran Samsung Data Migration again. This time, I unplugged the HDD and successfully booted into the SSD.

Seeing that I successfully cloned and booted into the new drive, I plugged the old HDD back in. When I turned my laptop on, I was back on the old HDD (I know because capacity is 1TB vs 250 GB for the SSD). I went back to the BIOS to check boot order, and SSD was on top.

What did I do wrong? Did I skip a step?

  • OS: Windows 10 Build 18363
  • Laptop: Acer Aspire E5-475
  • SSD: Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe M.2
  • BIOS mode is UEFI

So following instructions on various websites, I installed my new SSD on my laptop. I used the Samsung Data Migration tool to clone my old HDD into the new SSD. I then changed the boot order in the BIOS and made sure the SSD was first.

In my first attempt, I didn't unplug my HDD which was apparently wrong. So I deleted everything on the new SSD with diskpart, and ran Samsung Data Migration again. This time, I unplugged the HDD and successfully booted into the SSD.

Seeing that I successfully cloned and booted into the new drive, I plugged the old HDD back in. When I turned my laptop on, I was back on the old HDD (I know because capacity is 1TB vs 250 GB for the SSD). I went back to the BIOS to check boot order, and SSD was on top.

What did I do wrong? Did I skip a step?

Source Link
Paolo
  • 11
  • 1
  • 4

Successfully cloned my HDD to a new SSD, but can only boot into SSD if the old HDD is unplugged

OS: Windows 10 Build 18363

Laptop: Acer Aspire E5-475

SSD: Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe M.2

BIOS mode is UEFI

So following instructions on various websites, I installed my new SSD on my laptop. I used the Samsung Data Migration tool to clone my old HDD into the new SSD. I then changed the boot order in the BIOS and made sure the SSD was first.

In my first attempt, I didn't unplug my HDD which was apparently wrong. So I deleted everything on the new SSD with diskpart, and ran Samsung Data Migration again. This time, I unplugged the HDD and successfully booted into the SSD.

Seeing that I successfully cloned and booted into the new drive, I plugged the old HDD back in. When I turned my laptop on, I was back on the old HDD (I know because capacity is 1TB vs 250 GB for the SSD). I went back to the BIOS to check boot order, and SSD was on top.

What did I do wrong? Did I skip a step?