Skip to main content
Changing the title makes it clear that Dell has an additional power-saving feature beyond the more well-known Intel ones
Source Link
Ramhound
  • 43.1k
  • 35
  • 107
  • 137

How to disable "Intel Display Power Saving Technology"?

I'm using a Dell XPS 13 9380 running windows 10 (cry).

When a bright image is displayed, the screen brightens. When dark images are on the screen, it dims. The result is constantly changing brightness. It changes whether on battery or plugged in.

I have adjusted all of my power settings to high performance. I have looked in Intel's HD Graphics Control Panel, there is no option to disable it.

Following these protocols (https://superuser.com/a/1487212/1164457), I have:

  • disabled adaptive brightness in the registry
  • disabled Intel display power saving-saving technology in the registry

After rebooting and confirming the settings changed, the screen still changes brightness constantly.

Obviously I am not a psychopath and use everything in dark themes so thisThis "feature" makes it hard to see everything.

Please help.

How to disable "Intel Display Power Saving Technology"?

I'm using a Dell XPS 13 9380 running windows 10 (cry).

When a bright image is displayed, the screen brightens. When dark images are on the screen, it dims. The result is constantly changing brightness. It changes whether on battery or plugged in.

I have adjusted all of my power settings to high performance. I have looked in Intel's HD Graphics Control Panel, there is no option to disable.

Following these protocols (https://superuser.com/a/1487212/1164457), I have:

  • disabled adaptive brightness in the registry
  • disabled Intel display power saving technology in the registry

After rebooting and confirming the settings changed, the screen still changes brightness constantly.

Obviously I am not a psychopath and use everything in dark themes so this "feature" makes it hard to see everything.

Please help.

How to disable "Intel Display Power Saving Technology"?

I'm using a Dell XPS 13 9380 running windows 10 (cry).

When a bright image is displayed, the screen brightens. When dark images are on the screen, it dims. The result is constantly changing brightness. It changes whether on battery or plugged in.

I have adjusted all of my power settings to high performance. I have looked in Intel's HD Graphics Control Panel, there is no option to disable it.

Following these protocols (https://superuser.com/a/1487212/1164457), I have:

  • disabled adaptive brightness in the registry
  • disabled Intel display power-saving technology in the registry

After rebooting and confirming the settings changed, the screen still changes brightness constantly.

This "feature" makes it hard to see everything.

Changing the title makes it clear that Dell has an additional power-saving feature beyond the more well-known Intel ones
Link

Can't disable "Intel Display Dell XPS brightness changes automatically even when Intel Power Saving Technology"?is disabled

Source Link

Can't disable "Intel Display Power Saving Technology"?

How to disable "Intel Display Power Saving Technology"?

I'm using a Dell XPS 13 9380 running windows 10 (cry).

When a bright image is displayed, the screen brightens. When dark images are on the screen, it dims. The result is constantly changing brightness. It changes whether on battery or plugged in.

I have adjusted all of my power settings to high performance. I have looked in Intel's HD Graphics Control Panel, there is no option to disable.

Following these protocols (https://superuser.com/a/1487212/1164457), I have:

  • disabled adaptive brightness in the registry
  • disabled Intel display power saving technology in the registry

After rebooting and confirming the settings changed, the screen still changes brightness constantly.

Obviously I am not a psychopath and use everything in dark themes so this "feature" makes it hard to see everything.

Please help.