Skip to main content
Corrected spelling, fixed grammar, improved formatting, inlined screenshots
Source Link
karel
  • 13.5k
  • 26
  • 47
  • 54

Dual boot and Installinginstalling Ubuntu Onon F drive

Currently I have two hard disks ,:

a. Local Disk C (where Windows is installed) b. Linux F ( where I want to install Linux)

  1. Local Disk C (where Windows 7 is installed)
  2. Linux F ( where I want to install Ubuntu)

DiskDisk

I don't know which is my F Drive ,. I can't find the answersanswer anywhere.

From what I have researched, people are doing windowsWindows partitioning if they are going to use Linux on the same hard drive. So, so I assume I don't have to do windowsWindows partitioning if I am going to use the whole F Drive for LinuxUbuntu. Please correct me if I am wrong. This is how my diskDisk Management Looks:

Disk ManagementDisk Management

So what I did was to go to bios andentered BIOS, boot from the USB and install Linuxinstalled Ubuntu and. I followed the installation steps, but I came to a halt at Installation Typethe Installation type screen of the Ubuntu installer. I choosechose the Something else option of 'something else', then there was a drop downdropdown menu, but I can'tcouldn't tell which isdisk was the F drive.

Linux InstallationUbuntu Installation

Please Kindly advice.

Update: when When I choose /dev/sda ./dev/sda I am getting No root file systemget a No root file system error. Thank you.

RootfileErrorNo root file system

Dual boot and Installing Ubuntu On F drive

Currently I have two hard disks ,

a. Local Disk C (where Windows is installed) b. Linux F ( where I want to install Linux)

Disk

I don't know which is my F Drive , I can't find the answers anywhere.

From what I have researched, people are doing windows partitioning if they are going to use Linux on the same hard drive. So I assume I don't have to do windows partitioning if I am going to use the whole F Drive for Linux. Please correct me if I am wrong. This is how my disk Management Looks:

Disk Management

So what I did was to go to bios and boot from the USB and install Linux Ubuntu and I followed the installation steps but I came to a halt at Installation Type . I choose the option of 'something else' then there was a drop down but I can't tell which is the F drive.

Linux Installation

Please Kindly advice.

Update: when I choose /dev/sda . I am getting No root file system error. Thank you.

RootfileError

Dual boot and installing Ubuntu on F drive

Currently I have two hard disks:

  1. Local Disk C (where Windows 7 is installed)
  2. Linux F ( where I want to install Ubuntu)

Disk

I don't know which is my F Drive. I can't find the answer anywhere.

From what I have researched, people are doing Windows partitioning if they are going to use Linux on the same hard drive, so I assume I don't have to do Windows partitioning if I am going to use the whole F Drive for Ubuntu. Please correct me if I am wrong. This is how my Disk Management Looks:

Disk Management

I entered BIOS, boot from the USB and installed Ubuntu. I followed the installation steps, but I came to a halt at the Installation type screen of the Ubuntu installer. I chose the Something else option, then there was a dropdown menu, but I couldn't tell which disk was the F drive.

Ubuntu Installation When I choose /dev/sda I get a No root file system error.

No root file system

Receive a root file Error
Source Link
desh
  • 101
  • 2

Currently I have two hard disks ,

a. Local Disk C (where Windows is installed) b. Linux F ( where I want to install Linux)

Disk

I don't know which is my F Drive , I can't find the answers anywhere.

From what I have researched, people are doing windows partitioning if they are going to use Linux on the same hard drive. So I assume I don't have to do windows partitioning if I am going to use the whole F Drive for Linux. Please correct me if I am wrong. This is how my disk Management Looks:

Disk Management

So what I did was to go to bios and boot from the USB and install Linux Ubuntu and I followed the installation steps but I came to a halt at Installation Type . I choose the option of 'something else' then there was a drop down but I can't tell which is the F drive.

Linux Installation Please

Please Kindly advice. Update

Update: when I choose /dev/sda . I am getting No root file system error. Thank you.

RootfileError

Currently I have two hard disks ,

a. Local Disk C (where Windows is installed) b. Linux F ( where I want to install Linux)

Disk

I don't know which is my F Drive , I can't find the answers anywhere.

From what I have researched, people are doing windows partitioning if they are going to use Linux on the same hard drive. So I assume I don't have to do windows partitioning if I am going to use the whole F Drive for Linux. Please correct me if I am wrong. This is how my disk Management Looks:

Disk Management

So what I did was to go to bios and boot from the USB and install Linux Ubuntu and I followed the installation steps but I came to a halt at Installation Type . I choose the option of 'something else' then there was a drop down but I can't tell which is the F drive.

Linux Installation Please Kindly advice. Update: when I choose /dev/sda . I am getting No root file system error. Thank you.

Currently I have two hard disks ,

a. Local Disk C (where Windows is installed) b. Linux F ( where I want to install Linux)

Disk

I don't know which is my F Drive , I can't find the answers anywhere.

From what I have researched, people are doing windows partitioning if they are going to use Linux on the same hard drive. So I assume I don't have to do windows partitioning if I am going to use the whole F Drive for Linux. Please correct me if I am wrong. This is how my disk Management Looks:

Disk Management

So what I did was to go to bios and boot from the USB and install Linux Ubuntu and I followed the installation steps but I came to a halt at Installation Type . I choose the option of 'something else' then there was a drop down but I can't tell which is the F drive.

Linux Installation

Please Kindly advice.

Update: when I choose /dev/sda . I am getting No root file system error. Thank you.

RootfileError

added 73 characters in body
Source Link
desh
  • 101
  • 2

Currently I have two hard disks ,

a. Local Disk C (where Windows is installed) b. Linux F ( where I want to install Linux)

Disk

I don't know which is my F Drive , I can't find the answers anywhere.

From what I have researched, people are doing windows partitioning if they are going to use Linux on the same hard drive. So I assume I don't have to do windows partitioning if I am going to use the whole F Drive for Linux. Please correct me if I am wrong. This is how my disk Management Looks:

Disk Management

So what I did was to go to bios and boot from the USB and install Linux Ubuntu and I followed the installation steps but I came to a halt at Installation Type . I choose the option of 'something else' then there was a drop down but I can't tell which is the F drive.

Linux Installation Please Kindly advice.

Thank Update: when I choose /dev/sda . I am getting No root file system error. Thank you.

Currently I have two hard disks ,

a. Local Disk C (where Windows is installed) b. Linux F ( where I want to install Linux)

Disk

I don't know which is my F Drive , I can't find the answers anywhere.

From what I have researched, people are doing windows partitioning if they are going to use Linux on the same hard drive. So I assume I don't have to do windows partitioning if I am going to use the whole F Drive for Linux. Please correct me if I am wrong. This is how my disk Management Looks:

Disk Management

So what I did was to go to bios and boot from the USB and install Linux Ubuntu and I followed the installation steps but I came to a halt at Installation Type . I choose the option of 'something else' then there was a drop down but I can't tell which is the F drive.

Linux Installation Please Kindly advice.

Thank you.

Currently I have two hard disks ,

a. Local Disk C (where Windows is installed) b. Linux F ( where I want to install Linux)

Disk

I don't know which is my F Drive , I can't find the answers anywhere.

From what I have researched, people are doing windows partitioning if they are going to use Linux on the same hard drive. So I assume I don't have to do windows partitioning if I am going to use the whole F Drive for Linux. Please correct me if I am wrong. This is how my disk Management Looks:

Disk Management

So what I did was to go to bios and boot from the USB and install Linux Ubuntu and I followed the installation steps but I came to a halt at Installation Type . I choose the option of 'something else' then there was a drop down but I can't tell which is the F drive.

Linux Installation Please Kindly advice. Update: when I choose /dev/sda . I am getting No root file system error. Thank you.

Source Link
desh
  • 101
  • 2
Loading