Skip to main content
added 43 characters in body
Source Link
J.Doe
  • 25
  • 8

I discovered recently that there is two types of ip, i.e. the Public IP and the Private IP. I know that the Public IP is the one the external world can see and the Private IP is local to our network. It is distributed by the router. But which IP do we need to use the SSH someone.

Suppose my Public IP is 47.144.221.167 and my Private IP is 192.168.1.19 (Be aware that they are fake ip addresses).

  1. Is my Private IP unique? In other words, can my Private IP be distributed by another router?
  2. If I want to SSH another computer, do I need to use the Private IP or the Public IP?
  3. If someone tries to track my IP from China, will he get my Private or Public IP?

I discovered recently that there is two types of ip, i.e. the Public IP and the Private IP. I know that the Public IP is the one the external world can see and the Private IP is local to our network. It is distributed by the router. But which IP do we need to use the SSH someone.

Suppose my Public IP is 47.144.221.167 and my Private IP is 192.168.1.19.

  1. Is my Private IP unique? In other words, can my Private IP be distributed by another router?
  2. If I want to SSH another computer, do I need to use the Private IP or the Public IP?
  3. If someone tries to track my IP from China, will he get my Private or Public IP?

I discovered recently that there is two types of ip, i.e. the Public IP and the Private IP. I know that the Public IP is the one the external world can see and the Private IP is local to our network. It is distributed by the router. But which IP do we need to use the SSH someone.

Suppose my Public IP is 47.144.221.167 and my Private IP is 192.168.1.19 (Be aware that they are fake ip addresses).

  1. Is my Private IP unique? In other words, can my Private IP be distributed by another router?
  2. If I want to SSH another computer, do I need to use the Private IP or the Public IP?
  3. If someone tries to track my IP from China, will he get my Private or Public IP?
Source Link
J.Doe
  • 25
  • 8

Private and Public IPs are confusing

I discovered recently that there is two types of ip, i.e. the Public IP and the Private IP. I know that the Public IP is the one the external world can see and the Private IP is local to our network. It is distributed by the router. But which IP do we need to use the SSH someone.

Suppose my Public IP is 47.144.221.167 and my Private IP is 192.168.1.19.

  1. Is my Private IP unique? In other words, can my Private IP be distributed by another router?
  2. If I want to SSH another computer, do I need to use the Private IP or the Public IP?
  3. If someone tries to track my IP from China, will he get my Private or Public IP?