Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

28
  • 6
    As of April 10 2020 this solution still works! Legal or not, this is what I needed to do so that my 9 year old could read the ebooks provided by the public library on my e-Reader, instead of on a computer screen or smartphone. I think in this case, given current COVID-19 confinement orders, that bending rules like this is appropriate. The kids have to read!
    – NWMT
    Commented Apr 10, 2020 at 13:00
  • 1
    Wow, thanks to the original answer and the script above! It actually worked, but with one change. adobekey.py only works with Python3, so I replaced it with this version from the Python2 branch from the DeDRM_tools GitHub.
    – Kyle
    Commented Dec 5, 2020 at 2:47
  • 1
    Agreed, I'm just glad they left a clean break point from Python 2. PyCrypto will need to move to Python 3 as well. I'm watching DeDRM for releases to update the wiki or raise an issue when that times comes.
    – Kyle
    Commented Dec 6, 2020 at 17:05
  • 1
    i tried this in Wine 6 today and was baffled that DigitalEditions.exe kept crashing. Turned out I needed to apt install winbind. Perhaps that should be one of the steps now.
    – hackerb9
    Commented Feb 9, 2021 at 4:05
  • 1
    hi @hackerb9, you are right. I had winbind installed before, I can reproducce that without it DigitalEditions will crash at startup.
    – Adam
    Commented Feb 9, 2021 at 19:37