Skip to main content
Improved formatting; corrected spelling; fixed grammar
Source Link
Ramhound
  • 43.1k
  • 35
  • 107
  • 137

What knowledge exists about bare-metal virtualisationvirtualization products?

I'm interested in building a new desktop machine for home. I've been looking at the Intel Quad Core-Core processors, and I'd like to put 8 GB of RAM in there, but, it got me thinking about making the most out of the available resources.

I thought if I could get a good 64-bit machine, put some bare-metal virtualisationvirtualization on, then have a primary system, I'd also be able to bring up some extra virtualisedvirtualized systems as and when I needed. I know most of the bare metal systems are designed for the server market, but, is there anything out there that works well for a desktop?

What are the caveats? I presume I won't be able to make the most out of any video cards I could buy. What about just getting a decent screen resolution, will? Will this be a problem? I run a single 24" screen.

What about DVD/CD writing, is this possible? I'd likeI want to re-rip my CD collection,. I was hoping the quad 64-bit goodness would help me out with the encoding.

I currently use a Mac and couldn't go back to Windows, so that leaves Linux. I was thinking of a primary OS of Ubuntu. Does this make a difference?

What knowledge exists about bare-metal virtualisation products?

I'm interested in building a new desktop machine for home. I've been looking at the Intel Quad Core processors and I'd like to put 8 GB of RAM in there, but, it got me thinking about making the most out of the available resources.

I thought if I could get a good 64-bit machine, put some bare-metal virtualisation on, then have a primary system, I'd also be able to bring up some extra virtualised systems as and when I needed. I know most of the bare metal systems are designed for the server market, but, is there anything out there that works well for a desktop?

What are the caveats? I presume I won't be able to make the most out of any video cards I could buy. What about just getting a decent screen resolution, will this be a problem? I run a single 24" screen.

What about DVD/CD writing, is this possible? I'd like to re-rip my CD collection, I was hoping the quad 64-bit goodness would help me out with the encoding.

I currently use a Mac and couldn't go back to Windows so that leaves Linux. I was thinking a primary OS of Ubuntu. Does this make a difference?

What knowledge exists about bare-metal virtualization products?

I'm interested in building a new desktop machine for home. I've been looking at the Intel Quad-Core processors, and I'd like to put 8 GB of RAM in there, but it got me thinking about making the most out of the available resources.

I thought if I could get a good 64-bit machine, put some bare-metal virtualization on, then have a primary system, I'd also be able to bring up some extra virtualized systems as and when I needed. I know most of the bare metal systems are designed for the server market, but is there anything out there that works well for a desktop?

What are the caveats? I presume I won't make the most out of any video cards I could buy. What about just getting a decent screen resolution? Will this be a problem? I run a single 24" screen.

What about DVD/CD writing, is this possible? I want to re-rip my CD collection. I was hoping the quad 64-bit goodness would help me out with the encoding.

I currently use a Mac and couldn't go back to Windows, so that leaves Linux. I was thinking of a primary OS of Ubuntu. Does this make a difference?

disambiguating [desktop]
Link
Indrek
  • 24.6k
  • 14
  • 91
  • 93
deleted 29 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link
Peter Mortensen
  • 12.2k
  • 23
  • 72
  • 90

Does anyone have anyWhat knowledge exists about bare-metal virtualisation products?

I'm interested in building a new desktop machine for home,. I've been looking at the Intel Quad Core processors and I'd like to put 8GB8 GB of RAM in there, but, it got me thinking about making the most out of the available resources.

I thought if I could get a good 64bit64-bit machine, put some bare-metal virtualisation on, then have a primary system, I'd also be able to bring up some extra virtualised systems as and when I needed. I know most of the bare metal systems are designed for the server market, but, is there anything out there that works well for a desktop.?

What are the caveats? I presume I won't be able to make the most out of any video cards I could buy, what. What about just getting a decent screen resolution, will this be a problem? I run a single 24" screen.

What about DVD/CD writing, is this possible? I'd like to re-rip my CD collection, I was hoping the quad 64Bit64-bit goodness would help me out with the encoding.

I currently use a Mac and couldn't go back to windowsWindows so that leaves Linux,. I was thinking a primary OS of ubuntuUbuntu. Does this make a difference?

Thanks

Andrew

Does anyone have any knowledge about bare-metal virtualisation products?

I'm interested in building a new desktop machine for home, I've been looking at the Intel Quad Core processors and I'd like to put 8GB of RAM in there, but, it got me thinking about making the most out of the available resources.

I thought if I could get a good 64bit machine, put some bare-metal virtualisation on, then have a primary system, I'd also be able to bring up some extra virtualised systems as and when I needed. I know most of the bare metal systems are designed for the server market, but, is there anything out there that works well for a desktop.

What are the caveats? I presume I won't be able to make the most out of any video cards I could buy, what about just getting a decent screen resolution, will this be a problem? I run a single 24" screen.

What about DVD/CD writing, is this possible? I'd like to re-rip my CD collection, I was hoping the quad 64Bit goodness would help me out with the encoding.

I currently use a Mac and couldn't go back to windows so that leaves Linux, I was thinking a primary OS of ubuntu. Does this make a difference?

Thanks

Andrew

What knowledge exists about bare-metal virtualisation products?

I'm interested in building a new desktop machine for home. I've been looking at the Intel Quad Core processors and I'd like to put 8 GB of RAM in there, but, it got me thinking about making the most out of the available resources.

I thought if I could get a good 64-bit machine, put some bare-metal virtualisation on, then have a primary system, I'd also be able to bring up some extra virtualised systems as and when I needed. I know most of the bare metal systems are designed for the server market, but, is there anything out there that works well for a desktop?

What are the caveats? I presume I won't be able to make the most out of any video cards I could buy. What about just getting a decent screen resolution, will this be a problem? I run a single 24" screen.

What about DVD/CD writing, is this possible? I'd like to re-rip my CD collection, I was hoping the quad 64-bit goodness would help me out with the encoding.

I currently use a Mac and couldn't go back to Windows so that leaves Linux. I was thinking a primary OS of Ubuntu. Does this make a difference?

Post Migrated Here from stackoverflow.com (revisions)
Source Link
Andrew Taylor
Andrew Taylor
Loading