Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
18 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 19, 2022 at 5:07 history bumped CommunityBot This question has answers that may be good or bad; the system has marked it active so that they can be reviewed.
Apr 18, 2022 at 17:55 answer added user3626087 timeline score: 4
Aug 12, 2020 at 2:30 comment added Starlionblue Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately that doesn't solve it as my machine was going from sleep to hibernate after only an hour, but was waking up again in the middle of the night. At this point I just use hibernate when I go to bed. That keeps her quiet. :)
Aug 10, 2020 at 17:03 comment added James B I was getting mystery wakeup from the "ACPI Wake Timer" device, then I found this answer which led me to notice that the wakeup was exactly 3 hours after it went to sleep -- per the "Sleep -> Hibernate After" setting. It had to "wake up" to start hibernating, but always failed for some reason. I just disabled hibernation completely with powercfg /h off and I'm hoping that solves it.
Feb 3, 2020 at 3:31 comment added Starlionblue Fun wrinkle: If I take ownership of the "Universal Orchestrator Start" file and then remove "Wake the Computer to run this task," Windows creates a new file after a day or two, and then reinstates the task including "Wake..."
Feb 1, 2020 at 1:43 comment added Starlionblue I've now taken ownership of the file and unchecked "Wake the Computer" in the task using psexec. We shall see.
Feb 1, 2020 at 1:37 comment added Starlionblue Hi again. I'm still having this issue. This wake timer comes up from time to time. "Timer set by [SERVICE] \Device\HarddiskVolume4\Windows\System32\svchost.exe (SystemEventsBroker) expires at 22:58:30 on 1/02/2020. Reason: Windows will execute 'NT TASK\Microsoft\Windows\UpdateOrchestrator\Universal Orchestrator Start' scheduled task that requested waking the computer." In Task Scheduler it does indeed show "Wake the Computer to run this task." So far I've been unable to change the task even with psexcc. Any ideas?
Jan 23, 2020 at 13:44 comment added Starlionblue spike_66, thanks for the link. I had tried everything except disabling the UsoSvc service. Let's see if that helps. :)
Jan 23, 2020 at 8:54 comment added spike_66 Other tips related to this issue
Jan 23, 2020 at 7:22 comment added Starlionblue spike_66, thanks for the link. However the network card can not wake my system. I unchecked the appropriate box. As I mentioned, running "powercfg /devicequery wake_armed" shows only the mouse and keyboard.
Jan 22, 2020 at 13:59 comment added Starlionblue I did check all network cards and disabled their ability to wake the PC. As mentioned in my original post only mouse and keyboard have the ability to wake the PC.
Jan 22, 2020 at 13:58 comment added Starlionblue By "reinstalled Windows", I mean I performed a fresh install. I did not restore a backup.
Jan 22, 2020 at 13:57 comment added Starlionblue Yes I am sure no mouse/keyboard can wake the PC accidentally. That would show up in the event viewer. Also, hibernate does not solve the problem because ACPI wake alarms wake the PC even in hibernate. When hibernating the PC still wakes me up. :)
Jan 22, 2020 at 11:49 comment added RobertS - Reinstate Monica What do you mean with "Reinstalled" exactly? - I have even reinstalled Windows, just in case something weird was up with the old install. - Did you installed Windows new and later used a safety copy of the old system or did you installed also all your required applications new on a fresh and independent windows installation?
Jan 22, 2020 at 11:31 comment added spike_66 Take a look at this page
Jan 22, 2020 at 6:37 comment added jw_ Are you sure there is no mouse/keyboard that wake up the PC? You can use hibernate before the problem is solved.
Jan 22, 2020 at 4:50 review First posts
Jan 22, 2020 at 8:18
Jan 22, 2020 at 4:48 history asked Starlionblue CC BY-SA 4.0