Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • Why is BIND not recommended on a home connection? Also with the domain, how do I register my static IP to a domain? Commented Jan 20, 2020 at 2:19
  • IMHO, simply because many home connections are not quite reliable for hosting stuff... The issue is moot if your domain literally points to only one thing (a website on the same home server), but it could become a problem if e.g. your domain suddenly cannot receive email because home-run DNS server went down. Commented Jan 20, 2020 at 5:27
  • As far as domain setup goes, I was writing this with the assumption that you already own a domain... the general configuration is the same everywhere (add an "A" record for IPv4) but the exact way to do it differs greatly between different DNS hosting providers. Commented Jan 20, 2020 at 5:29
  • I was thinking that you meant it was not recommended due to security reasons. I can see why a home connection is not as preferred as say a business account in regards to service. Really for this though all I want to do is host a website that at this point no one knows about. On it would be some functionality with technical and theoretical value which I would like to demonstrate to employers if nothing else. It is not a commercial enterprise at all. Though I would be very happy to get some funding for it later on. Commented Jan 20, 2020 at 13:55
  • So with the DNS, do I just need to register my IP with a DNS hosting provider? Then they will have specific steps according to how they do DNS right? Commented Jan 20, 2020 at 14:08