Skip to main content
9 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 20, 2020 at 17:56 comment added Charles Dake I think i am going to go with Hostwinds to try it out. The only problem is that I would have much smaller ram for similar price. It would be a much better connection though because I only get 3mbs where I live.
Jan 20, 2020 at 17:40 comment added Daniel B Even on a virtual server, you are the administrator. The difference is a vastly better connection and direct public IP access, no NAT or port forwarding. If hacked, it’s not on your sensible local network.
Jan 20, 2020 at 14:13 comment added Charles Dake The website makes a lot of use of GIS functions. I need to do computations on shp files for user interaction purposes. My system right now is to use python libraries. There are other functionalities like a Prolog program to compute logical relations between predicates in my tables. I would think that a virtual server could support this functionality. I am still attracted to the idea of being my own system administrator. I once worked as a system administrator on Linux server a while ago and enjoyed it (the software engineer was the 'real' system administrator though).
Jan 20, 2020 at 5:32 comment added grawity_u1686 "My own webserver" does not imply having a whole physical server – the same can be done on a VM rented from some "cloud" hosting company (such as the popular Digital Ocean, Linode, etc.). Also, even specialized website-hosting plans which don't give direct server access still almost always include some amount of SQL database service.
Jan 20, 2020 at 2:12 comment added Charles Dake The functionality of the website requires a database. I don't think I can use my database in the application unless I have my own webserver. Could you explain why a website from home is not advised?
Jan 19, 2020 at 21:49 answer added harrymc timeline score: 0
Jan 19, 2020 at 19:58 answer added grawity_u1686 timeline score: 1
Jan 19, 2020 at 19:11 comment added Daniel B I strongly suggest you not host your website at home unless absolutely required. Virtual servers are relatively cheap. // Your ISP will not deal with your domain. You’ll have to handle that yourself, in any case.
Jan 19, 2020 at 18:33 history asked Charles Dake CC BY-SA 4.0