Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • I strongly suggest you not host your website at home unless absolutely required. Virtual servers are relatively cheap. // Your ISP will not deal with your domain. You’ll have to handle that yourself, in any case.
    – Daniel B
    Commented Jan 19, 2020 at 19:11
  • The functionality of the website requires a database. I don't think I can use my database in the application unless I have my own webserver. Could you explain why a website from home is not advised? Commented Jan 20, 2020 at 2:12
  • "My own webserver" does not imply having a whole physical server – the same can be done on a VM rented from some "cloud" hosting company (such as the popular Digital Ocean, Linode, etc.). Also, even specialized website-hosting plans which don't give direct server access still almost always include some amount of SQL database service. Commented Jan 20, 2020 at 5:32
  • The website makes a lot of use of GIS functions. I need to do computations on shp files for user interaction purposes. My system right now is to use python libraries. There are other functionalities like a Prolog program to compute logical relations between predicates in my tables. I would think that a virtual server could support this functionality. I am still attracted to the idea of being my own system administrator. I once worked as a system administrator on Linux server a while ago and enjoyed it (the software engineer was the 'real' system administrator though). Commented Jan 20, 2020 at 14:13
  • Even on a virtual server, you are the administrator. The difference is a vastly better connection and direct public IP access, no NAT or port forwarding. If hacked, it’s not on your sensible local network.
    – Daniel B
    Commented Jan 20, 2020 at 17:40