Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
16 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 10, 2020 at 13:00 audit First posts
Feb 10, 2020 at 13:00
Jan 20, 2020 at 23:38 comment added Joe I'm stuck using two TP-Link 500Mbs adapters here because the WiFi adapter on my notebook is dead and I can't run a cable from the gateway to where I use my notebook. It works fine, but nowhere near as fast as my gateway. I do find that I have to drop the connection and restart it a number of times a week. That might be the powerline units. (I run Linux and USB WiFi adapters that work are slower.)
Jan 16, 2020 at 19:09 comment added AndyB You can buy powerline adapters that have built-in WiFi at the remote end. That means you won't need a separate router there.
Jan 16, 2020 at 11:35 comment added Gnudiff 2 notes.(1) I have also used several powerline adapters in 2 different apartments for years without a glitch. (2) not sure from the answer but for around €30 you can get a WiFi extender which serves as a simple ap which bridges your Ethernet to WiFi
Jan 16, 2020 at 11:27 comment added William @LPChip that's fine, I'm just adding my experience as well, so people can see that PowerLine can be a perfectly fine solution, contrary to what the answer suggests.
Jan 16, 2020 at 8:06 comment added LPChip @WilliamMariager my experiences tell me otherwise. I have used a powerline adapter myself and it ran fine for more than 7 months when I started to have weird timing issues that I could not explain. When I finally checked the powerline adapter, I noticed it had lights flashing. I resetted the connection and all was fine. Since I occasionally had problems which I later found out can be influenced by what electric devices are available in the house. I have had periods of many months without issues and sometimes one reset a month. For work, my boss has the very same experience.
Jan 16, 2020 at 5:13 comment added Bob @cinico It is actually entirely possible that modern Wi-Fi (802.11ac/ax) can provide both a much faster and more reliable backhaul than powerline (HomePlug). Depends on the distances involved, the house layout (for Wi-Fi), the electrical circuits (for HomePlug), etc..
Jan 16, 2020 at 1:06 comment added William @cinico, the description of PowerLine in this answer is biased by the author. I have used PowerLine for well over a year, no resets needed and with consistent 150/70 Mbit speeds(with 300/70 Mbit provided by our ISP), very stable, both for gaming and streaming. Both our experiences are obviously not enough to prove anything, but if you have a way to test it for a while, you might find that it works well for you too.
Jan 15, 2020 at 22:52 comment added cinico @LPchip you're right. I was actually referring to these wifi repeaters that have an ethernet socket so that they can act as AP. So, not as repeaters. Still, your first answer clarified my doubt
Jan 15, 2020 at 22:22 comment added LPChip @cinico I just reread your question and I misunderstood you the first time. A wifi repeater has no Ethernet input and will just copy an existing wifi, boosting its range so to speak. You can't plug it into a powerline adapter. A Wifi Access Point is almost the same, but instead of boosting an existing wifi signal, it creates a new one from an Ethernet port. You connect the ethernet port to the powerline adapter in your case.
Jan 15, 2020 at 15:55 comment added LPChip @Mokubai I see where you getting at. I'm just not sure how to incorporate part of your answer into mine. I think your answer is a great answer actually so I personally would say: keep them both on. Your answer is definitely not wrong and it is a great source for people to learn from.
Jan 15, 2020 at 14:43 comment added Mokubai Between us we answer both sides of the problem. I would be happy if you wanted to incorporate or improve on my slightly poorly worded answer and put it into your own. I have added to my answer to try and get the point over better but feel it is lacking somewhat while yours gets to the core issue and provides actual solutions. I am a little focused on "why not" rather than "what you can do". If they were merged then I could delete my answer. I have already upvoted your answer as it is more directly helpful than my own.
Jan 15, 2020 at 14:16 comment added LPChip Yes, this will not reduce the speed. The problem with a wifi-repeater is that it needs 2 channels through the air to transmit the same data as it communicates with the other wifi point, this effectively cuts the speed in half, not counting any reception issues. Powerline does not suffer from this at all, but is known to be a bit unstable and requires a reset every once in a while.
Jan 15, 2020 at 13:51 vote accept cinico
Jan 15, 2020 at 13:51 comment added cinico You understood my question/problem perfectly. Great answer, thank you. Do you know if I connect a wifi repeater through ethernet (from powerline adapter B) if this minimizes the loss of speed, compared with using an wifi repeater to receive/transmit everything through wifi?
Jan 15, 2020 at 13:45 history answered LPChip CC BY-SA 4.0