Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

13
  • 1
    You understood my question/problem perfectly. Great answer, thank you. Do you know if I connect a wifi repeater through ethernet (from powerline adapter B) if this minimizes the loss of speed, compared with using an wifi repeater to receive/transmit everything through wifi?
    – cinico
    Commented Jan 15, 2020 at 13:51
  • 1
    Yes, this will not reduce the speed. The problem with a wifi-repeater is that it needs 2 channels through the air to transmit the same data as it communicates with the other wifi point, this effectively cuts the speed in half, not counting any reception issues. Powerline does not suffer from this at all, but is known to be a bit unstable and requires a reset every once in a while.
    – LPChip
    Commented Jan 15, 2020 at 14:16
  • Between us we answer both sides of the problem. I would be happy if you wanted to incorporate or improve on my slightly poorly worded answer and put it into your own. I have added to my answer to try and get the point over better but feel it is lacking somewhat while yours gets to the core issue and provides actual solutions. I am a little focused on "why not" rather than "what you can do". If they were merged then I could delete my answer. I have already upvoted your answer as it is more directly helpful than my own.
    – Mokubai
    Commented Jan 15, 2020 at 14:43
  • @Mokubai I see where you getting at. I'm just not sure how to incorporate part of your answer into mine. I think your answer is a great answer actually so I personally would say: keep them both on. Your answer is definitely not wrong and it is a great source for people to learn from.
    – LPChip
    Commented Jan 15, 2020 at 15:55
  • 3
    @cinico, the description of PowerLine in this answer is biased by the author. I have used PowerLine for well over a year, no resets needed and with consistent 150/70 Mbit speeds(with 300/70 Mbit provided by our ISP), very stable, both for gaming and streaming. Both our experiences are obviously not enough to prove anything, but if you have a way to test it for a while, you might find that it works well for you too.
    – William
    Commented Jan 16, 2020 at 1:06