Skip to main content
edited title
Link
Joe
  • 313
  • 1
  • 12
  • 27

Why does %appdata% point to the appdata folder of the administrator?

added 230 characters in body
Source Link
Joe
  • 313
  • 1
  • 12
  • 27

There's a Windows 10 computer on my network where %appdata% points to the %UserProfile%\AppData folder of the built-in Administrator.

I log in as user X on the machine (X is not the built-in Administrator), click the Start Menu, type %appdata% followed by Enter, so I expect to be shown %UserProfile%\AppData\Roaming in an Explorer window; instead, Explorer opens to C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Roaming.

Why is this, and how can I correct this?

Edit: as requested by Ramhound, here are the values for:

HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders

enter image description here

There's a Windows 10 computer on my network where %appdata% points to the %UserProfile%\AppData folder of the built-in Administrator.

I log in as user X on the machine (X is not the built-in Administrator), click the Start Menu, type %appdata% followed by Enter, so I expect to be shown %UserProfile%\AppData\Roaming in an Explorer window; instead, Explorer opens to C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Roaming.

Why is this, and how can I correct this?

There's a Windows 10 computer on my network where %appdata% points to the %UserProfile%\AppData folder of the built-in Administrator.

I log in as user X on the machine (X is not the built-in Administrator), click the Start Menu, type %appdata% followed by Enter, so I expect to be shown %UserProfile%\AppData\Roaming in an Explorer window; instead, Explorer opens to C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Roaming.

Why is this, and how can I correct this?

Edit: as requested by Ramhound, here are the values for:

HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders

enter image description here

Added correct markdown for monospaced code ; Grammatical corrections; replaced correction because %appdata% points to %userprofile%\appdata, not %userprofile%\appdata\roaming
Source Link
Joe
  • 313
  • 1
  • 12
  • 27

There's a Windows 10 computer on my network where %appdata% points to the %UserProfile%\AppData\Roaming%UserProfile%\AppData folder of the built-in Administrator.

I log in as user X on the machine (X is not the built-in Administrator), click the Start Menu, type %appdata% followed by Enter, so I expect to be shown %UserProfile%\AppData\Roaming in an Explorer window; instead, Explorer opens to C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Roaming.

Why is this, and how can I correct this?

There's a Windows 10 computer on my network where %appdata% points to the %UserProfile%\AppData\Roaming folder of the built-in Administrator.

I log in as user X on the machine (X is not the built-in Administrator), click the Start Menu, type %appdata% followed by Enter, so I expect to be shown %UserProfile%\AppData\Roaming in an Explorer window; instead, Explorer opens to C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Roaming.

Why is this, and how can I correct this?

There's a Windows 10 computer on my network where %appdata% points to the %UserProfile%\AppData folder of the built-in Administrator.

I log in as user X on the machine (X is not the built-in Administrator), click the Start Menu, type %appdata% followed by Enter, so I expect to be shown %UserProfile%\AppData\Roaming in an Explorer window; instead, Explorer opens to C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Roaming.

Why is this, and how can I correct this?

Added correct markdown for monospaced code ; Grammatical corrections
Source Link
Loading
Source Link
Joe
  • 313
  • 1
  • 12
  • 27
Loading