Skip to main content
deleted 8 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link
quack quixote
  • 42.9k
  • 14
  • 108
  • 130

I've bought an Solid State Drive (SSD) for my MacBook Pro, and now I need to exchange it somehow. Would this strategy work?

  1. Create an backup with Time Machine (Snow Leopard)

    Create an backup with Time Machine (Snow Leopard)
  2. Then replace the old HDD

    Then replace the old HDD
  3. Insert the new HDD

    Insert the new HDD
  4. Install Snow Leopard (same version as previously used)

    Install Snow Leopard (same version as previously used)
  5. Open up Time Machine, and recover from the last backup

    Open up Time Machine, and recover from the last backup

I'm not sure about how to do the last part. Is that hard? What are the neccessary steps?

Or is there a better way? Maybe I don't need to re-install Snow Leopard completely? Maybe the Install CD already offers an option to recover from Backup?

I've bought an Solid State Drive (SSD) for my MacBook Pro, and now I need to exchange it somehow. Would this strategy work?

  1. Create an backup with Time Machine (Snow Leopard)

  2. Then replace the old HDD

  3. Insert the new HDD

  4. Install Snow Leopard (same version as previously used)

  5. Open up Time Machine, and recover from the last backup

I'm not sure about how to do the last part. Is that hard? What are the neccessary steps?

Or is there a better way? Maybe I don't need to re-install Snow Leopard completely? Maybe the Install CD already offers an option to recover from Backup?

I've bought an Solid State Drive (SSD) for my MacBook Pro, and now I need to exchange it somehow. Would this strategy work?

  1. Create an backup with Time Machine (Snow Leopard)
  2. Then replace the old HDD
  3. Insert the new HDD
  4. Install Snow Leopard (same version as previously used)
  5. Open up Time Machine, and recover from the last backup

I'm not sure about how to do the last part. Is that hard? What are the neccessary steps?

Or is there a better way? Maybe I don't need to re-install Snow Leopard completely? Maybe the Install CD already offers an option to recover from Backup?

Source Link

How to exchange the HDD of a MacBook Pro?

I've bought an Solid State Drive (SSD) for my MacBook Pro, and now I need to exchange it somehow. Would this strategy work?

  1. Create an backup with Time Machine (Snow Leopard)

  2. Then replace the old HDD

  3. Insert the new HDD

  4. Install Snow Leopard (same version as previously used)

  5. Open up Time Machine, and recover from the last backup

I'm not sure about how to do the last part. Is that hard? What are the neccessary steps?

Or is there a better way? Maybe I don't need to re-install Snow Leopard completely? Maybe the Install CD already offers an option to recover from Backup?