Skip to main content
added 335 characters in body
Source Link
Basj
  • 1.9k
  • 14
  • 64
  • 107

How to search a string in the whole RAM? (not only in some processes' allocated memory, but the whole RAM)

Or is there a way to dump the whole RAM into a 4GB or 8GB disk file? Then I could easily do:

grep mypassword c:\ramdump.raw

Usage example: I'd like to know if a password manager stores my master password in plaintext, as found by a security team here.

I'm using Windows 7 x64, as administrator.


Note: Unlike How to get complete memory dump in Windows 10? I specifically want to search content in the RAM, and not get information from a memory dump. Moreover this question is unclear: the title doesn't match the content ("Question in title doesn't seem to match the question in the body.")

How to search a string in the whole RAM? (not only in some processes' allocated memory, but the whole RAM)

Or is there a way to dump the whole RAM into a 4GB or 8GB disk file? Then I could easily do:

grep mypassword c:\ramdump.raw

Usage example: I'd like to know if a password manager stores my master password in plaintext, as found by a security team here.

I'm using Windows 7 x64, as administrator.

How to search a string in the whole RAM? (not only in some processes' allocated memory, but the whole RAM)

Or is there a way to dump the whole RAM into a 4GB or 8GB disk file? Then I could easily do:

grep mypassword c:\ramdump.raw

Usage example: I'd like to know if a password manager stores my master password in plaintext, as found by a security team here.

I'm using Windows 7 x64, as administrator.


Note: Unlike How to get complete memory dump in Windows 10? I specifically want to search content in the RAM, and not get information from a memory dump. Moreover this question is unclear: the title doesn't match the content ("Question in title doesn't seem to match the question in the body.")

Source Link
Basj
  • 1.9k
  • 14
  • 64
  • 107

Find a string in the whole RAM

How to search a string in the whole RAM? (not only in some processes' allocated memory, but the whole RAM)

Or is there a way to dump the whole RAM into a 4GB or 8GB disk file? Then I could easily do:

grep mypassword c:\ramdump.raw

Usage example: I'd like to know if a password manager stores my master password in plaintext, as found by a security team here.

I'm using Windows 7 x64, as administrator.