Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
added 49 characters in body
Source Link
XPloRR
  • 201
  • 1
  • 3

I had the same problem: computer woke up every night/morning. I could solve my problem following these steps:

I had the same problem: computer woke up every night/morning.

I had the same problem: computer woke up every night/morning. I could solve my problem following these steps:

Source Link
XPloRR
  • 201
  • 1
  • 3

I had the same problem: computer woke up every night/morning.

I checked with powercfg (cmd as administrator), but it didn't point me to the cause:

C:\Windows\system32>powercfg -lastwake
Wake History Count - 1
Wake History [0]
  Wake Source Count - 1
  Wake Source [0]
    Type: Fixed Feature
    Power Button

C:\Windows\system32>powercfg -waketimers
Timer set by [SERVICE] \Device\HarddiskVolume4\Windows\System32\svchost.exe (SystemEventsBroker) expires at 14:27:19 on 29/11/2019.
  Reason: Windows will execute 'NT TASK\Microsoft\Windows\UpdateOrchestrator\Backup Scan' scheduled task that requested waking the computer.

C:\Windows\system32>powercfg -requests
DISPLAY:
None.

SYSTEM:
None.

AWAYMODE:
None.

EXECUTION:
None.

PERFBOOST:
None.

ACTIVELOCKSCREEN:
None.


C:\Windows\system32>powercfg -devicequery wake_armed
HID-compliant mouse

So I tried Get-ScheduledTask (powershell as administator):

PS C:\Windows\system32> Get-ScheduledTask | where {$_.settings.waketorun}

TaskPath                                       TaskName                          State
--------                                       --------                          -----
\Microsoft\Windows\.NET Framework\             .NET Framework NGEN v4.0.30319... Disabled
\Microsoft\Windows\.NET Framework\             .NET Framework NGEN v4.0.30319... Disabled
\Microsoft\Windows\InstallService\             WakeUpAndContinueUpdates          Disabled
\Microsoft\Windows\InstallService\             WakeUpAndScanForUpdates           Disabled
\Microsoft\Windows\SharedPC\                   Account Cleanup                   Disabled
\Microsoft\Windows\UpdateOrchestrator\         Backup Scan                       Ready
\Microsoft\Windows\UpdateOrchestrator\         Reboot                            Ready
\Microsoft\Windows\UpdateOrchestrator\         Reboot_AC                         Disabled
\Microsoft\Windows\UpdateOrchestrator\         Universal Orchestrator Start      Ready

But that didn't made me any wiser either.

So I checked with the Get-WinEvent command to filter out the Microsoft-Windows-Power-Troubleshooter events (only relevant results shown):

PS C:\Windows\system32> Get-WinEvent -Providername Microsoft-Windows-Power-Troubleshooter -MaxEvents 5 | Format-List TimeCreated,Message


TimeCreated : 15/11/2019 7:32:41
Message     : The system has returned from a low power state.

              Sleep Time: ‎2019‎-‎11‎-‎14T21:08:03.532918500Z
              Wake Time: ‎2019‎-‎11‎-‎15T06:32:41.357766500Z

              Wake Source: Unknown


TimeCreated : 14/11/2019 7:29:39
Message     : The system has returned from a low power state.

              Sleep Time: ‎2019‎-‎11‎-‎13T20:17:29.836771000Z
              Wake Time: ‎2019‎-‎11‎-‎14T06:29:38.367280500Z

              Wake Source: Unknown

I noticed every day at around 7:30 a power-up event from an unknown source. So I decided to check in the application eventlog (event viewer/windows logs/application) what happened at around that time and found an information event from source gupdate just after that time:

The description for Event ID 0 from source gupdate cannot be found. Either the component that raises this event is not installed on your local computer or the installation is corrupted. You can install or repair the component on the local computer.
If the event originated on another computer, the display information had to be saved with the event.
The following information was included with the event: 
Service stopped

The service gupdate refers to the Google Update Service (GoogleUpdate.exe). I also checked TaskScheduler for related Google Update tasks, but their schedule times didn't match the time above.

Anyhow, I disabled Google Update Service to test if I didn't get the unknown wakeup events anymore.

So my problem is solved, but I am still left with some questions:

  • Why does Google Update Service needs to wakeup my pc from sleep?
  • Why at 7:30 in the morning? How can I change the hour?
  • How can I instruct Google Update Service to not wakeup my pc?