Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1465968921933189120
added stuff
Source Link
sdbbs
  • 1.4k
  • 5
  • 20
  • 30

Ok, I have seen: Change working directory to network share - however, it does not seem to work for me on Windows 10.

At work, I have a network share, let's say, at local IP address 20.0.0.1; so, first I go to a Windows Explorer window, type there \\20.0.0.1\, I get asked for a login and password; when I enter my credentials, I get a directory listing, no problem. (and I even get \\20.0.0.1\ as a node under Network in the tree view pane on the left of the Windows Explorer window.)

So, now I open Powershell as administrator, and try this:

PS C:\WINDOWS\system32> cd \\20.0.0.1\
cd : Cannot find path '\\20.0.0.1\' because it does not exist.
At line:1 char:1
+ cd \\20.0.0.1\
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : ObjectNotFound: (\\20.0.0.1\:String) [Set-Location], ItemNotFoundException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : PathNotFound,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.SetLocationCommand

Same for cmd.exe, ran as Administrator:

C:\WINDOWS\system32>pushd \\10\\20.0.100.1\
The network name cannot be found.

Net use does not work either:

C:\WINDOWS\system32>net use Y: \\20.0.0.1\
System error 67 has occurred.

The network name cannot be found.

... and yet, the server is fully pingable:

C:\WINDOWS\system32>ping 20.0.0.1

Pinging 20.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 20.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 20.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 20.0.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 2, Received = 2, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
Control-C
^C

How can I cd into this network share from a terminal (either cmd, or Powershell)?

Ok, I have seen: Change working directory to network share - however, it does not seem to work for me on Windows 10.

At work, I have a network share, let's say, at local IP address 20.0.0.1; so, first I go to a Windows Explorer window, type there \\20.0.0.1\, I get asked for a login and password; when I enter my credentials, I get a directory listing, no problem. (and I even get \\20.0.0.1\ as a node under Network in the tree view pane on the left of the Windows Explorer window.)

So, now I open Powershell as administrator, and try this:

PS C:\WINDOWS\system32> cd \\20.0.0.1\
cd : Cannot find path '\\20.0.0.1\' because it does not exist.
At line:1 char:1
+ cd \\20.0.0.1\
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : ObjectNotFound: (\\20.0.0.1\:String) [Set-Location], ItemNotFoundException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : PathNotFound,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.SetLocationCommand

Same for cmd.exe, ran as Administrator:

C:\WINDOWS\system32>pushd \\10.0.10.1\
The network name cannot be found.

How can I cd into this network share from a terminal (either cmd, or Powershell)?

Ok, I have seen: Change working directory to network share - however, it does not seem to work for me on Windows 10.

At work, I have a network share, let's say, at local IP address 20.0.0.1; so, first I go to a Windows Explorer window, type there \\20.0.0.1\, I get asked for a login and password; when I enter my credentials, I get a directory listing, no problem. (and I even get \\20.0.0.1\ as a node under Network in the tree view pane on the left of the Windows Explorer window.)

So, now I open Powershell as administrator, and try this:

PS C:\WINDOWS\system32> cd \\20.0.0.1\
cd : Cannot find path '\\20.0.0.1\' because it does not exist.
At line:1 char:1
+ cd \\20.0.0.1\
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : ObjectNotFound: (\\20.0.0.1\:String) [Set-Location], ItemNotFoundException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : PathNotFound,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.SetLocationCommand

Same for cmd.exe, ran as Administrator:

C:\WINDOWS\system32>pushd \\20.0.0.1\
The network name cannot be found.

Net use does not work either:

C:\WINDOWS\system32>net use Y: \\20.0.0.1\
System error 67 has occurred.

The network name cannot be found.

... and yet, the server is fully pingable:

C:\WINDOWS\system32>ping 20.0.0.1

Pinging 20.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 20.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 20.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 20.0.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 2, Received = 2, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
Control-C
^C

How can I cd into this network share from a terminal (either cmd, or Powershell)?

Source Link
sdbbs
  • 1.4k
  • 5
  • 20
  • 30

Windows 10 cmd/powershell: cd to a network share?

Ok, I have seen: Change working directory to network share - however, it does not seem to work for me on Windows 10.

At work, I have a network share, let's say, at local IP address 20.0.0.1; so, first I go to a Windows Explorer window, type there \\20.0.0.1\, I get asked for a login and password; when I enter my credentials, I get a directory listing, no problem. (and I even get \\20.0.0.1\ as a node under Network in the tree view pane on the left of the Windows Explorer window.)

So, now I open Powershell as administrator, and try this:

PS C:\WINDOWS\system32> cd \\20.0.0.1\
cd : Cannot find path '\\20.0.0.1\' because it does not exist.
At line:1 char:1
+ cd \\20.0.0.1\
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : ObjectNotFound: (\\20.0.0.1\:String) [Set-Location], ItemNotFoundException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : PathNotFound,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.SetLocationCommand

Same for cmd.exe, ran as Administrator:

C:\WINDOWS\system32>pushd \\10.0.10.1\
The network name cannot be found.

How can I cd into this network share from a terminal (either cmd, or Powershell)?