Skip to main content

I came up with a way to keep my power supply cool.

I have an m17xr3M17xR3 Alienware laptop which power supply gets extremely hot, especially with overclocking. It's just drawing more power from the supply than it used to. Now that I have unlocked the BIOS and am pushing the CPU and GPU harder, which in turn draws more power the CPU, has gone from stock 2.4GHz up to 3.7GHz, which it seems to have no problems.

Doing very stable temperatures, no real increase from stock, I did adjust fan timing so they come on earlier now, but overall temperature never exceeds 80 degrees Celsius. The main issue was the power supply getting so hot you couldn't touch it.

I solved this by cutting a rectangular wholehole in the top of the plastic on my PSU and attaching 2 old CPU heat sinks with the fans still attached to the metal plate. Inside the PSU, some heatsink thermal paste and an old 12V power adapter to power the fans.

It never gets above 20 degrees Celsius now.

Here is a pic:

power supply cooler

I came up with a way to keep my power supply cool.

I have an m17xr3 Alienware laptop which power supply gets extremely hot, especially with overclocking. It's just drawing more power from the supply than it used to. Now that I have unlocked the BIOS and am pushing the CPU and GPU harder, which in turn draws more power the CPU, has gone from stock 2.4GHz up to 3.7GHz, which it seems to have no problems.

Doing very stable temperatures, no real increase from stock, I did adjust fan timing so they come on earlier now, but overall temperature never exceeds 80 degrees Celsius. The main issue was the power supply getting so hot you couldn't touch it.

I solved this by cutting a rectangular whole in the top of the plastic on my PSU and attaching 2 old CPU heat sinks with the fans still attached to the metal plate. Inside the PSU, some heatsink paste and an old 12V power adapter to power the fans.

It never gets above 20 degrees Celsius now.

Here is a pic:

power supply cooler

I came up with a way to keep my power supply cool.

I have an M17xR3 Alienware laptop which power supply gets extremely hot, especially with overclocking. It's just drawing more power from the supply than it used to. Now that I have unlocked the BIOS and am pushing the CPU and GPU harder, which in turn draws more power the CPU, has gone from stock 2.4GHz up to 3.7GHz, which it seems to have no problems.

Doing very stable temperatures, no real increase from stock, I did adjust fan timing so they come on earlier now, but overall temperature never exceeds 80 degrees Celsius. The main issue was the power supply getting so hot you couldn't touch it.

I solved this by cutting a rectangular hole in the top of the plastic on my PSU and attaching 2 old CPU heat sinks with the fans still attached to the metal plate. Inside the PSU, some heatsink thermal paste and an old 12V power adapter to power the fans.

It never gets above 20 degrees Celsius now.

Here is a pic:

power supply cooler

edited body
Source Link

I came up with a way to keep my power supply cool.

I have an m17xr3 Alienware laptop which power supply gets extremely hot, especially with overclocking. It's just drawing more power from the supply than it used to. Now that I have unlocked the BIOS and am pushing the CPU and GPU harder, which in turn draws more power the CPU, has gone from stock 2.2GHz4GHz up to 3.7GHz, which it seems to have no problems.

Doing very stable temperatures, no real increase from stock, I did adjust fan timing so they come on earlier now, but overall temperature never exceeds 80 degrees Celsius. The main issue was the power supply getting so hot you couldn't touch it.

I solved this by cutting a rectangular whole in the top of the plastic on my PSU and attaching 2 old CPU heat sinks with the fans still attached to the metal plate. Inside the PSU, some heatsink paste and an old 12V power adapter to power the fans.

It never gets above 20 degrees Celsius now.

Here is a pic:

power supply cooler

I came up with a way to keep my power supply cool.

I have an m17xr3 Alienware laptop which power supply gets extremely hot, especially with overclocking. It's just drawing more power from the supply than it used to. Now that I have unlocked the BIOS and am pushing the CPU and GPU harder, which in turn draws more power the CPU, has gone from stock 2.2GHz up to 3.7GHz, which it seems to have no problems.

Doing very stable temperatures, no real increase from stock, I did adjust fan timing so they come on earlier now, but overall temperature never exceeds 80 degrees Celsius. The main issue was the power supply getting so hot you couldn't touch it.

I solved this by cutting a rectangular whole in the top of the plastic on my PSU and attaching 2 old CPU heat sinks with the fans still attached to the metal plate. Inside the PSU, some heatsink paste and an old 12V power adapter to power the fans.

It never gets above 20 degrees Celsius now.

Here is a pic:

power supply cooler

I came up with a way to keep my power supply cool.

I have an m17xr3 Alienware laptop which power supply gets extremely hot, especially with overclocking. It's just drawing more power from the supply than it used to. Now that I have unlocked the BIOS and am pushing the CPU and GPU harder, which in turn draws more power the CPU, has gone from stock 2.4GHz up to 3.7GHz, which it seems to have no problems.

Doing very stable temperatures, no real increase from stock, I did adjust fan timing so they come on earlier now, but overall temperature never exceeds 80 degrees Celsius. The main issue was the power supply getting so hot you couldn't touch it.

I solved this by cutting a rectangular whole in the top of the plastic on my PSU and attaching 2 old CPU heat sinks with the fans still attached to the metal plate. Inside the PSU, some heatsink paste and an old 12V power adapter to power the fans.

It never gets above 20 degrees Celsius now.

Here is a pic:

power supply cooler

Contribute punctuation. Remove the Halloween witches.
Source Link

I came up with a way to keep my power supply cool.

I have aan m17xr3 alienwareAlienware laptop wich thewhich power supply gets extremely hot, especially with overclocking its. It's just drawing more power from the supply than it used to now. Now that iI have unlocked the biosBIOS and am pushing the cpuCPU and gpuGPU harder witch, which in turn draws more power the cpuCPU, has gone from stock 2.2ghz2GHz up to 3.7ghz witch7GHz, which it seems to have no problems doing.

Doing very stable tempstemperatures, no real increase from stock i, I did adjust fan timing so they come on earlier now, but overall temptemperature never exceeds 80c the main issue was the power supply getting so hot you couldn't touch it i solved this by cutting a rectangular whole in the top of the plastic on my PSU and attaching 2 old cpu heat sinks with the fans still attached to the metal plate inside the PSU some heatsink paste and an old 12v power adapter to power the fans it never gets above 20c now heres degrees Celsius. The main issue was the power supply getting so hot you couldn't touch it.

I solved this by cutting a picrectangular whole in the top of the plastic on my PSU and attaching 2 old CPU heat sinks with the fans still attached to the metal plate. Inside the PSU, some heatsink paste and an old 12V power adapter to power the fans.

It never gets above 20 degrees Celsius now.

power supply coolerHere is a pic:

power supply cooler

I came up with a way to keep my power supply cool I have a m17xr3 alienware laptop wich the power supply gets extremely hot especially with overclocking its just drawing more power from the supply than it used to now that i have unlocked the bios and am pushing the cpu and gpu harder witch in turn draws more power the cpu has gone from stock 2.2ghz up to 3.7ghz witch it seems to have no problems doing very stable temps no real increase from stock i did adjust fan timing so they come on earlier now but overall temp never exceeds 80c the main issue was the power supply getting so hot you couldn't touch it i solved this by cutting a rectangular whole in the top of the plastic on my PSU and attaching 2 old cpu heat sinks with the fans still attached to the metal plate inside the PSU some heatsink paste and an old 12v power adapter to power the fans it never gets above 20c now heres a pic.power supply cooler

I came up with a way to keep my power supply cool.

I have an m17xr3 Alienware laptop which power supply gets extremely hot, especially with overclocking. It's just drawing more power from the supply than it used to. Now that I have unlocked the BIOS and am pushing the CPU and GPU harder, which in turn draws more power the CPU, has gone from stock 2.2GHz up to 3.7GHz, which it seems to have no problems.

Doing very stable temperatures, no real increase from stock, I did adjust fan timing so they come on earlier now, but overall temperature never exceeds 80 degrees Celsius. The main issue was the power supply getting so hot you couldn't touch it.

I solved this by cutting a rectangular whole in the top of the plastic on my PSU and attaching 2 old CPU heat sinks with the fans still attached to the metal plate. Inside the PSU, some heatsink paste and an old 12V power adapter to power the fans.

It never gets above 20 degrees Celsius now.

Here is a pic:

power supply cooler

Source Link
Loading