Skip to main content
Rollback to Revision 1
Source Link
d-b
  • 834
  • 1
  • 11
  • 29

I just read this question How does Firefox know my ISP login page? which made me think of a related issue:

On all devices I have, the captive portal is opened using, I guess, a "browser view" rather than the regular browser. In some cases where I have to enter login details to get access, I would prefer to use a regular browser that remembers passwords but, especially on phones, it is hard or impossible to copy the URL (or even see the full address) for use in a regular browser.

Is there a way around this?

This is specifically aboutApplies to Android, iOS and Mac OS X (and maybe Windows but I rarely use it so I don't remember how it handles this situation). Some miniscule solution that detects the URL you are redirected to and lets me copy it would be good enough.

I just read this question How does Firefox know my ISP login page? which made me think of a related issue:

On all devices I have, the captive portal is opened using, I guess, a "browser view" rather than the regular browser. In some cases where I have to enter login details to get access, I would prefer to use a regular browser that remembers passwords but, especially on phones, it is hard or impossible to copy the URL (or even see the full address) for use in a regular browser.

Is there a way around this?

This is specifically about Mac OS X (and maybe Windows but I rarely use it so I don't remember how it handles this situation). Some miniscule solution that detects the URL you are redirected to and lets me copy it would be good enough.

I just read this question How does Firefox know my ISP login page? which made me think of a related issue:

On all devices I have, the captive portal is opened using, I guess, a "browser view" rather than the regular browser. In some cases where I have to enter login details to get access, I would prefer to use a regular browser that remembers passwords but, especially on phones, it is hard or impossible to copy the URL (or even see the full address) for use in a regular browser.

Is there a way around this?

Applies to Android, iOS and Mac OS X (and maybe Windows but I rarely use it so I don't remember how it handles this situation). Some miniscule solution that detects the URL you are redirected to and lets me copy it would be good enough.

Removed off topic mobile OS references
Source Link
music2myear
  • 43.2k
  • 50
  • 89
  • 129

I just read this question How does Firefox know my ISP login page? which made me think of a related issue:

On all devices I have, the captive portal is opened using, I guess, a "browser view" rather than the regular browser. In some cases where I have to enter login details to get access, I would prefer to use a regular browser that remembers passwords but, especially on phones, it is hard or impossible to copy the URL (or even see the full address) for use in a regular browser.

Is there a way around this?

Applies to Android, iOS andThis is specifically about Mac OS X (and maybe Windows but I rarely use it so I don't remember how it handles this situation). Some miniscule solution that detects the URL you are redirected to and lets me copy it would be good enough.

I just read this question How does Firefox know my ISP login page? which made me think of a related issue:

On all devices I have, the captive portal is opened using, I guess, a "browser view" rather than the regular browser. In some cases where I have to enter login details to get access, I would prefer to use a regular browser that remembers passwords but, especially on phones, it is hard or impossible to copy the URL (or even see the full address) for use in a regular browser.

Is there a way around this?

Applies to Android, iOS and Mac OS X (and maybe Windows but I rarely use it so I don't remember how it handles this situation). Some miniscule solution that detects the URL you are redirected to and lets me copy it would be good enough.

I just read this question How does Firefox know my ISP login page? which made me think of a related issue:

On all devices I have, the captive portal is opened using, I guess, a "browser view" rather than the regular browser. In some cases where I have to enter login details to get access, I would prefer to use a regular browser that remembers passwords but, especially on phones, it is hard or impossible to copy the URL (or even see the full address) for use in a regular browser.

Is there a way around this?

This is specifically about Mac OS X (and maybe Windows but I rarely use it so I don't remember how it handles this situation). Some miniscule solution that detects the URL you are redirected to and lets me copy it would be good enough.

Source Link
d-b
  • 834
  • 1
  • 11
  • 29

Open captive portal in regular browser?

I just read this question How does Firefox know my ISP login page? which made me think of a related issue:

On all devices I have, the captive portal is opened using, I guess, a "browser view" rather than the regular browser. In some cases where I have to enter login details to get access, I would prefer to use a regular browser that remembers passwords but, especially on phones, it is hard or impossible to copy the URL (or even see the full address) for use in a regular browser.

Is there a way around this?

Applies to Android, iOS and Mac OS X (and maybe Windows but I rarely use it so I don't remember how it handles this situation). Some miniscule solution that detects the URL you are redirected to and lets me copy it would be good enough.