Skip to main content
added 378 characters in body
Source Link
Ramhound
  • 43k
  • 35
  • 107
  • 137

So what happened after I wrote this post is I tried to install 3138615 again. It again looked like the operation was DoA. But, the devil on my shoulder suggested I let it run for a while, so I did, and left my house.

KB3138615 was replaced by KB4516067. Technically, KB3138615 was replaced by three dozen different updates, the most recent is KB4516067. KB4516067 is the only update you should attempt to install, this will decrease the amount of time, it takes your system to search for updates. Your system will still have to download other required updates, if your system does not have a required update, attempting to install KB4516067 provide the appropriate notification.

KB2976976 unlike some suspected is an update that Windows released soon after Windows 10

Due to the fact KB2976976 does not exit on the Windows Update catalog website it cannot be downloaded. I cannot tell if the update was superceeded by another update, however, I suspect the update was optional.

But don’t think the fun is over. I have started the install process and it seems to be dead. I will observe this behavior and (if it doesn’t work) try the older KB3102812, and update. If it does work, I will answer my own question to help any others who have this issue.

Spending your time trying to install old updates that have already been superceeded by another update is not a productive use of your time. You should not spend time trying to get KB3102812 to install. Any issues with Windows Update will be resolved by installing the more recent Monthly Quality Rollup updates like KB4516067

This kind of tomfoolery is one of the reasons I don’t like to use Microsoft products. (Failures like the subject matter are another).

This entire issue could have been avoided if you had kept your system updated. The problem you are experiencing is due to the fact, you are attempting to install hundreds of updates, released over a very large timeframe. Windows Update recieved numerious improvements over the years, to make the process of finding, processing, and installing appliciable updates actually faster. Due to the fact your system did not recieve those patched, due to manual intervention, your system now has problem finding the newer updates. This issue would exist if you were to install an unmodified Windows 7 RTM installation today. I can confirm the problems you are encountering would been a problem for any version of Windows 10 that is no longer supported. Windows Updates improvements were released to all supported versions of Windows in 2016 timeframe. In the 2016 timeframe Microsoft, went to cumaltive updates, instead of individual patches for each issue. Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 8.1 Update recieve monthly Security and Quality (Quality of Life) and Security Only cumlative updates.

So what happened after I wrote this post is I tried to install 3138615 again. It again looked like the operation was DoA. But, the devil on my shoulder suggested I let it run for a while, so I did, and left my house.

KB3138615 was replaced by KB4516067. Technically, KB3138615 was replaced by three dozen different updates, the most recent is KB4516067. KB4516067 is the only update you should attempt to install, this will decrease the amount of time, it takes your system to search for updates. Your system will still have to download other required updates, if your system does not have a required update, attempting to install KB4516067 provide the appropriate notification.

KB2976976 unlike some suspected is an update that Windows released soon after Windows 10

Due to the fact KB2976976 does not exit on the Windows Update catalog website it cannot be downloaded. I cannot tell if the update was superceeded by another update, however, I suspect the update was optional.

But don’t think the fun is over. I have started the install process and it seems to be dead. I will observe this behavior and (if it doesn’t work) try the older KB3102812, and update. If it does work, I will answer my own question to help any others who have this issue.

Spending your time trying to install old updates that have already been superceeded by another update is not a productive use of your time. You should not spend time trying to get KB3102812 to install. Any issues with Windows Update will be resolved by installing the more recent Monthly Quality Rollup updates like KB4516067

This kind of tomfoolery is one of the reasons I don’t like to use Microsoft products. (Failures like the subject matter are another).

This entire issue could have been avoided if you had kept your system updated. The problem you are experiencing is due to the fact, you are attempting to install hundreds of updates, released over a very large timeframe. Windows Update recieved numerious improvements over the years, to make the process of finding, processing, and installing appliciable updates actually faster. Due to the fact your system did not recieve those patched, due to manual intervention, your system now has problem finding the newer updates. This issue would exist if you were to install an unmodified Windows 7 RTM installation today. Windows Updates improvements were released to all supported versions of Windows in 2016 timeframe.

So what happened after I wrote this post is I tried to install 3138615 again. It again looked like the operation was DoA. But, the devil on my shoulder suggested I let it run for a while, so I did, and left my house.

KB3138615 was replaced by KB4516067. Technically, KB3138615 was replaced by three dozen different updates, the most recent is KB4516067. KB4516067 is the only update you should attempt to install, this will decrease the amount of time, it takes your system to search for updates. Your system will still have to download other required updates, if your system does not have a required update, attempting to install KB4516067 provide the appropriate notification.

KB2976976 unlike some suspected is an update that Windows released soon after Windows 10

Due to the fact KB2976976 does not exit on the Windows Update catalog website it cannot be downloaded. I cannot tell if the update was superceeded by another update, however, I suspect the update was optional.

But don’t think the fun is over. I have started the install process and it seems to be dead. I will observe this behavior and (if it doesn’t work) try the older KB3102812, and update. If it does work, I will answer my own question to help any others who have this issue.

Spending your time trying to install old updates that have already been superceeded by another update is not a productive use of your time. You should not spend time trying to get KB3102812 to install. Any issues with Windows Update will be resolved by installing the more recent Monthly Quality Rollup updates like KB4516067

This kind of tomfoolery is one of the reasons I don’t like to use Microsoft products. (Failures like the subject matter are another).

This entire issue could have been avoided if you had kept your system updated. The problem you are experiencing is due to the fact, you are attempting to install hundreds of updates, released over a very large timeframe. Windows Update recieved numerious improvements over the years, to make the process of finding, processing, and installing appliciable updates actually faster. Due to the fact your system did not recieve those patched, due to manual intervention, your system now has problem finding the newer updates. This issue would exist if you were to install an unmodified Windows 7 RTM installation today. I can confirm the problems you are encountering would been a problem for any version of Windows 10 that is no longer supported. Windows Updates improvements were released to all supported versions of Windows in 2016 timeframe. In the 2016 timeframe Microsoft, went to cumaltive updates, instead of individual patches for each issue. Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 8.1 Update recieve monthly Security and Quality (Quality of Life) and Security Only cumlative updates.

Source Link
Ramhound
  • 43k
  • 35
  • 107
  • 137

So what happened after I wrote this post is I tried to install 3138615 again. It again looked like the operation was DoA. But, the devil on my shoulder suggested I let it run for a while, so I did, and left my house.

KB3138615 was replaced by KB4516067. Technically, KB3138615 was replaced by three dozen different updates, the most recent is KB4516067. KB4516067 is the only update you should attempt to install, this will decrease the amount of time, it takes your system to search for updates. Your system will still have to download other required updates, if your system does not have a required update, attempting to install KB4516067 provide the appropriate notification.

KB2976976 unlike some suspected is an update that Windows released soon after Windows 10

Due to the fact KB2976976 does not exit on the Windows Update catalog website it cannot be downloaded. I cannot tell if the update was superceeded by another update, however, I suspect the update was optional.

But don’t think the fun is over. I have started the install process and it seems to be dead. I will observe this behavior and (if it doesn’t work) try the older KB3102812, and update. If it does work, I will answer my own question to help any others who have this issue.

Spending your time trying to install old updates that have already been superceeded by another update is not a productive use of your time. You should not spend time trying to get KB3102812 to install. Any issues with Windows Update will be resolved by installing the more recent Monthly Quality Rollup updates like KB4516067

This kind of tomfoolery is one of the reasons I don’t like to use Microsoft products. (Failures like the subject matter are another).

This entire issue could have been avoided if you had kept your system updated. The problem you are experiencing is due to the fact, you are attempting to install hundreds of updates, released over a very large timeframe. Windows Update recieved numerious improvements over the years, to make the process of finding, processing, and installing appliciable updates actually faster. Due to the fact your system did not recieve those patched, due to manual intervention, your system now has problem finding the newer updates. This issue would exist if you were to install an unmodified Windows 7 RTM installation today. Windows Updates improvements were released to all supported versions of Windows in 2016 timeframe.