Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • Other than the updates you attempted to install what is the last update that was installed successfully? If you download [KB4516067 ](catalog.update.microsoft.com/Search.aspx?q=KB4516067%20) and attempt to install it what happens exactly?
    – Ramhound
    Commented Oct 1, 2019 at 11:49
  • I will check when I am home. For now, the date of installation (Jan 13, 2016) is all I got so surely some update released on or before that day. Commented Oct 1, 2019 at 11:51
  • Yes; There have been several hundred updates since Windows 8.1 was released. Just to be clear are you running Windows 8.1 or Windows 8.1 Update? This is very important, Windows 8.1 Update is required, for any updates released after it.
    – Ramhound
    Commented Oct 1, 2019 at 11:52
  • I will find out soon but I wager it’s 8.1 update as I have updated it in 2016 while the link you sent shows a date of 2014 (of course this is not a necessary and sufficient condition though). I won’t have any issues updating to Windows 8.1 Update if I don’t have it already though, I hope? I would assume the most recent update at the time (Jan 13 ‘16) is what I installed. Commented Oct 1, 2019 at 11:58
  • @Ramhound there was a whole suite of updates on that day. Most recent OS(?) update is Update for Windows 8.1 for x64-based systems KB2976978 Commented Oct 1, 2019 at 12:32