Skip to main content
10 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 14, 2019 at 0:41 comment added Atcold So, the keyboard is supposed to send \033[5;3 upon pressing the <Alt> + <PgUp> combo. Nevertheless, it is acceptable for WeeChat to receive the combination of the two keys separately. It seems that "meta" represents <Esc>. That's why I was able to get by by using <Esc><PgUp>. So, I set that to be my first action hack. Finally, I figured the correct escape sequence that the program was expecting. I'll try to summarise all this in my answer. Thank you sempai!
Aug 13, 2019 at 21:59 comment added sawdust @Atcold -- Seems like you did enough investigation (you went to the source code!) to write (and accept) a distinct/correct answer. You've been generous with your acknowledgements and gratitude that I don't feel slighted if my answer is not accepted. I'm aware that it never correctly answered the problem. Have you figured out why there are two entries for some keystrokes in that weechat table?
Aug 13, 2019 at 18:35 comment added Atcold Found actual solution. <Alt> + <PgUp>\033[5;3~ and <Alt> + <PgDn>\033[6;3~. Adding the reference here.
Aug 13, 2019 at 17:47 comment added Atcold I found the solution! I'm not sure whether I should reply my own answer now (given the help you gave me figuring this out). In short <Alt> + <PgUp> was caught (by the OS?) and not sent through the terminal app. Adding the key-action <Alt> + <PgUp>-\033\033[5~ (<PgDn>/\033[6~) did the trick, which was what I was already doing manually with <Esc> <PgUp> (no +, as you mentioned). So, if you include this line at the opening of your answer, I can accept it.
Aug 13, 2019 at 3:02 comment added sawdust "...but I think we haven't yet understood what's going on" -- True, so I've given it another shot. I've had problems grasping your issue, and I admit I'm not a keyboard driver expert.
Aug 13, 2019 at 2:59 history edited sawdust CC BY-SA 4.0
added 3538 characters in body
Aug 12, 2019 at 21:48 comment added Atcold Thanks so much for addressing my confusion. I've added a section to my question where I'm providing some additional context regarding your points. I know this is not a forum, but I think we haven't yet understood what's going on. Namely, why I cannot scroll WeeChat with <Alt> + <PgUp>. The nice thing is that WeeChat lets me see what keys / signals are received, letting me hopefully debug this.
Aug 11, 2019 at 6:44 history edited sawdust CC BY-SA 4.0
added 1320 characters in body
Aug 11, 2019 at 3:00 history edited sawdust CC BY-SA 4.0
added 172 characters in body
Aug 11, 2019 at 2:55 history answered sawdust CC BY-SA 4.0