Skip to main content
added 172 characters in body
Source Link
Klangen
  • 827
  • 2
  • 7
  • 10

I have a one-year-old PC with an Intel i7-7800X processor. It has been running fine, and I am able to use it with modern stress-heavy applications and games with no problem.

Recently I've been getting temperature warnings from the OS that the processor's core temperature has reached 105 degrees (Celsius), while playing a modern game on high settings. So I installed Core Temp, and I got these results:

enter image description here

As you can see, the CPU loads are nowhere near high levels, yet my cores reach more than 100 degrees. Note that I had no issues before why playing the exact same game with the exact same settings.

The CPU fan is working correctly, there is no overclocking, just factory settings. All drivers are up to date.

What can cause such a behaviour? What are the risks I am taking while simply playing my game? How can I solve this problem?


EDIT after solving the problem

As others have suggested, I replaced the cooler and the thermal paste and temperatures are now back to normal. Thank you all.

I have a one-year-old PC with an Intel i7-7800X processor. It has been running fine, and I am able to use it with modern stress-heavy applications and games with no problem.

Recently I've been getting temperature warnings from the OS that the processor's core temperature has reached 105 degrees (Celsius), while playing a modern game on high settings. So I installed Core Temp, and I got these results:

enter image description here

As you can see, the CPU loads are nowhere near high levels, yet my cores reach more than 100 degrees. Note that I had no issues before why playing the exact same game with the exact same settings.

The CPU fan is working correctly, there is no overclocking, just factory settings. All drivers are up to date.

What can cause such a behaviour? What are the risks I am taking while simply playing my game? How can I solve this problem?

I have a one-year-old PC with an Intel i7-7800X processor. It has been running fine, and I am able to use it with modern stress-heavy applications and games with no problem.

Recently I've been getting temperature warnings from the OS that the processor's core temperature has reached 105 degrees (Celsius), while playing a modern game on high settings. So I installed Core Temp, and I got these results:

enter image description here

As you can see, the CPU loads are nowhere near high levels, yet my cores reach more than 100 degrees. Note that I had no issues before why playing the exact same game with the exact same settings.

The CPU fan is working correctly, there is no overclocking, just factory settings. All drivers are up to date.

What can cause such a behaviour? What are the risks I am taking while simply playing my game? How can I solve this problem?


EDIT after solving the problem

As others have suggested, I replaced the cooler and the thermal paste and temperatures are now back to normal. Thank you all.

deleted 1 character in body
Source Link
Klangen
  • 827
  • 2
  • 7
  • 10

I have a one-year-old PC with an Intel i7-7800X processor. It has been running fine, and I am able to use it with modern stress-heavy applications and games with no problem.

Recently I've been getting temperature warnings from the OS that the processor's core temperature has reached 105 degrees (Celsius), while playing a modern game on high settings. So I installed Core Temp, and I got these results:

enter image description here

As you can see, theethe CPU loads are nowhere near high levels, yet my cores reach more than 100 degrees. Note that I had no issues before why playing the exact same game with the exact same settings.

The CPU fan is working correctly, there is no overclocking, just factory settings. All drivers are up to date.

What can cause such a behaviour? What are the risks I am taking while simply playing my game? How can I solve this problem?

I have a one-year-old PC with an Intel i7-7800X processor. It has been running fine, and I am able to use it with modern stress-heavy applications and games with no problem.

Recently I've been getting temperature warnings from the OS that the processor's core temperature has reached 105 degrees (Celsius), while playing a modern game on high settings. So I installed Core Temp, and I got these results:

enter image description here

As you can see, thee CPU loads are nowhere near high levels, yet my cores reach more than 100 degrees. Note that I had no issues before why playing the exact same game with the exact same settings.

The CPU fan is working correctly, there is no overclocking, just factory settings. All drivers are up to date.

What can cause such a behaviour? What are the risks I am taking while simply playing my game? How can I solve this problem?

I have a one-year-old PC with an Intel i7-7800X processor. It has been running fine, and I am able to use it with modern stress-heavy applications and games with no problem.

Recently I've been getting temperature warnings from the OS that the processor's core temperature has reached 105 degrees (Celsius), while playing a modern game on high settings. So I installed Core Temp, and I got these results:

enter image description here

As you can see, the CPU loads are nowhere near high levels, yet my cores reach more than 100 degrees. Note that I had no issues before why playing the exact same game with the exact same settings.

The CPU fan is working correctly, there is no overclocking, just factory settings. All drivers are up to date.

What can cause such a behaviour? What are the risks I am taking while simply playing my game? How can I solve this problem?

Source Link
Klangen
  • 827
  • 2
  • 7
  • 10

Why is my Intel i7-7800X processor overheating so quickly?

I have a one-year-old PC with an Intel i7-7800X processor. It has been running fine, and I am able to use it with modern stress-heavy applications and games with no problem.

Recently I've been getting temperature warnings from the OS that the processor's core temperature has reached 105 degrees (Celsius), while playing a modern game on high settings. So I installed Core Temp, and I got these results:

enter image description here

As you can see, thee CPU loads are nowhere near high levels, yet my cores reach more than 100 degrees. Note that I had no issues before why playing the exact same game with the exact same settings.

The CPU fan is working correctly, there is no overclocking, just factory settings. All drivers are up to date.

What can cause such a behaviour? What are the risks I am taking while simply playing my game? How can I solve this problem?