Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 1
    Unfortunately for you the only option is (payed) tech support from the manufacturer.
    – user931000
    Commented Jul 18, 2019 at 18:59
  • Thank you for your response even though it is sad haha, do you imply that there is no other way like invading EEPROM or anything like that left for me to do(at least that you know of)? Or was it meant to be more like "the easiest method" to follow I know it might be write-protected but there are so many BIOS enthusiasts out there that I had some hope left for the bush goarounds. Commented Jul 18, 2019 at 19:04
  • what do you need to change in BIOS that would require the password? hopefully you have also tried a variety of default passwords, and just leaving the password field blank and pressing enter
    – mael'
    Commented Jul 18, 2019 at 19:06
  • I am, in fact, 75% sure it was me who for some uknown reason set that password months ago and as it is not my main laptop I didn't experience any problems but now I want a machine that will be able to withstand AOSP compilation for my nexus 5x and it is definitely not my Lenovo Thinkpad 230x with 120G SSD. Boot menu is disabled in BIOS, that is the main obstacle for now at least so I can't install Ubuntu with my windows to peform the operation. Commented Jul 18, 2019 at 19:08
  • Though I am aware of "Windows Subsystem for Linux (Beta)" way but it is not supported by my version of Windows and one of the possible solutions would be acquiring one that does but that will still leave me with locked bios for possible future needs if that works at all. Commented Jul 18, 2019 at 19:13