Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1147113014233092098
Became Hot Network Question
added 4 characters in body
Source Link
Martin Prikryl
  • 22.7k
  • 10
  • 83
  • 164

I have the following generic host configuration in my .ssh/configssh_config:

Host *
  ConnectTimeout 5
  ServerAliveInterval 5
  ServerAliveCountMax 12

I also have some specific configurations. For example the following alias:

Host work-server-1
  Hostname a.b.c.d

Host work-server-2
  Hostname i.j.k.l

Now, my question: when logging into the host work-server-1, will SSH also use the ConnectTimeout, ServerAliveInterval and ServerAliveCountMax setting as defined in the Host * entry?

I have the following generic host configuration in my .ssh/config:

Host *
  ConnectTimeout 5
  ServerAliveInterval 5
  ServerAliveCountMax 12

I also have some specific configurations. For example the following alias:

Host work-server-1
  Hostname a.b.c.d

Host work-server-2
  Hostname i.j.k.l

Now, my question: when logging into the host work-server-1, will SSH also use the ConnectTimeout, ServerAliveInterval and ServerAliveCountMax setting as defined in the Host * entry?

I have the following generic host configuration in my .ssh/ssh_config:

Host *
  ConnectTimeout 5
  ServerAliveInterval 5
  ServerAliveCountMax 12

I also have some specific configurations. For example the following alias:

Host work-server-1
  Hostname a.b.c.d

Host work-server-2
  Hostname i.j.k.l

Now, my question: when logging into the host work-server-1, will SSH also use the ConnectTimeout, ServerAliveInterval and ServerAliveCountMax setting as defined in the Host * entry?

Source Link
Pritzl
  • 285
  • 2
  • 13

Are host configurations in the SSH config merged?

I have the following generic host configuration in my .ssh/config:

Host *
  ConnectTimeout 5
  ServerAliveInterval 5
  ServerAliveCountMax 12

I also have some specific configurations. For example the following alias:

Host work-server-1
  Hostname a.b.c.d

Host work-server-2
  Hostname i.j.k.l

Now, my question: when logging into the host work-server-1, will SSH also use the ConnectTimeout, ServerAliveInterval and ServerAliveCountMax setting as defined in the Host * entry?