Skip to main content
unreadable image size
Source Link

These steps worked for me whereas all others did not.

Go to your Google Account page

  1. Click Security
  2. Enable 2-factor verification at this step.
  3. App passwords
  4. Mail
  5. Windows Computer
  6. Generate
  7. Copy the generated code.
  8. Done
  9. Open Mail in Windows and click on the cog wheel manage accounts+ add accountOther account
  10. Enter your email address associated with the code, your perferred name and lastly paste the password you copied in step 7.
  11. Sign in

Images showing above steps 1-8 in your google account

Images showing above steps 9-11 in your Windows 10 Mail App

EDIT

I've rechecked this thread and missed how people have generated a password and entered it not how I have done where I was only presented with 3 options.

So, I've done the same but except for the calendar app. Mail worked fine using this method so I thought this might, but no.

So I ran this command in PowerShell

Get-Service -Name "*Credential*" | Format-List -Property Name, DependentServices

This gave me a list of services and any dependent services which came back with

CredentialEnrollmentManagerUserSvc_1c445e

No sign of the other. Which makes me wonder if this is an account problem. My OS is tied to my MS online account.

Then I tried:

  1. Stop-Service -Name "Credential*" -Force -Confirm in PowerShell
  2. Click on Start and type Services. Right-click on Services and select Run as Administrator.
  3. In the Services window, look for Credential Manager Service and Stop it.
  4. Restart the computer and Start the Credential Manager Service and set it to Automatic.
  5. Then the other is greyed out. So I tried Set-Service -Name CredentialEnrollmentManagerUserSvc_1c445e -StartupType Automatic in PowerShell but I didn't have the access to this, even though I'm the only admin.

Not sure what else to try but this info might serve others well.

See screenshot of the services window and PowerShell output for others to check if your results are similar.

These steps worked for me whereas all others did not.

Go to your Google Account page

  1. Click Security
  2. Enable 2-factor verification at this step.
  3. App passwords
  4. Mail
  5. Windows Computer
  6. Generate
  7. Copy the generated code.
  8. Done
  9. Open Mail in Windows and click on the cog wheel manage accounts+ add accountOther account
  10. Enter your email address associated with the code, your perferred name and lastly paste the password you copied in step 7.
  11. Sign in

Images showing above steps 1-8 in your google account

Images showing above steps 9-11 in your Windows 10 Mail App

EDIT

I've rechecked this thread and missed how people have generated a password and entered it not how I have done where I was only presented with 3 options.

So, I've done the same but except for the calendar app. Mail worked fine using this method so I thought this might, but no.

So I ran this command in PowerShell

Get-Service -Name "*Credential*" | Format-List -Property Name, DependentServices

This gave me a list of services and any dependent services which came back with

CredentialEnrollmentManagerUserSvc_1c445e

No sign of the other. Which makes me wonder if this is an account problem. My OS is tied to my MS online account.

Then I tried:

  1. Stop-Service -Name "Credential*" -Force -Confirm in PowerShell
  2. Click on Start and type Services. Right-click on Services and select Run as Administrator.
  3. In the Services window, look for Credential Manager Service and Stop it.
  4. Restart the computer and Start the Credential Manager Service and set it to Automatic.
  5. Then the other is greyed out. So I tried Set-Service -Name CredentialEnrollmentManagerUserSvc_1c445e -StartupType Automatic in PowerShell but I didn't have the access to this, even though I'm the only admin.

Not sure what else to try but this info might serve others well.

See screenshot of the services window and PowerShell output for others to check if your results are similar.

These steps worked for me whereas all others did not.

Go to your Google Account page

  1. Click Security
  2. Enable 2-factor verification at this step.
  3. App passwords
  4. Mail
  5. Windows Computer
  6. Generate
  7. Copy the generated code.
  8. Done
  9. Open Mail in Windows and click on the cog wheel manage accounts+ add accountOther account
  10. Enter your email address associated with the code, your perferred name and lastly paste the password you copied in step 7.
  11. Sign in

Images showing above steps 1-8 in your google account

Images showing above steps 9-11 in your Windows 10 Mail App

EDIT

I've rechecked this thread and missed how people have generated a password and entered it not how I have done where I was only presented with 3 options.

So, I've done the same but except for the calendar app. Mail worked fine using this method so I thought this might, but no.

So I ran this command in PowerShell

Get-Service -Name "*Credential*" | Format-List -Property Name, DependentServices

This gave me a list of services and any dependent services which came back with

CredentialEnrollmentManagerUserSvc_1c445e

No sign of the other. Which makes me wonder if this is an account problem. My OS is tied to my MS online account.

Then I tried:

  1. Stop-Service -Name "Credential*" -Force -Confirm in PowerShell
  2. Click on Start and type Services. Right-click on Services and select Run as Administrator.
  3. In the Services window, look for Credential Manager Service and Stop it.
  4. Restart the computer and Start the Credential Manager Service and set it to Automatic.
  5. Then the other is greyed out. So I tried Set-Service -Name CredentialEnrollmentManagerUserSvc_1c445e -StartupType Automatic in PowerShell but I didn't have the access to this, even though I'm the only admin.

Not sure what else to try but this info might serve others well.

See screenshot of the services window and PowerShell output for others to check if your results are similar.

Added info about using powershell to check services and stopping them.
Source Link
Ste
  • 1.2k
  • 2
  • 10
  • 24

These steps worked for me whereas all others did not.

Go to your Google Account page

  1. Click Security
  2. Enable 2-factor verification at this step.
  3. App passwords
  4. Mail
  5. Windows Computer
  6. Generate
  7. Copy the generated code.
  8. Done
  9. Open Mail in Windows and click on the cog wheel manage accounts+ add accountOther account
  10. Enter your email address associated with the code, your perferred name and lastly paste the password you copied in step 7.
  11. Sign in

Images showing above steps 1-8 in your google account

google account steps

Images showing above steps 9-11 in your Windows 10 Mail App

EDIT

Mail in Windows 10 steps I've rechecked this thread and missed how people have generated a password and entered it not how I have done where I was only presented with 3 options.

So, I've done the same but except for the calendar app. Mail worked fine using this method so I thought this might, but no.

So I ran this command in PowerShell

Get-Service -Name "*Credential*" | Format-List -Property Name, DependentServices

This gave me a list of services and any dependent services which came back with

CredentialEnrollmentManagerUserSvc_1c445e

No sign of the other. Which makes me wonder if this is an account problem. My OS is tied to my MS online account.

Then I tried:

  1. Stop-Service -Name "Credential*" -Force -Confirm in PowerShell
  2. Click on Start and type Services. Right-click on Services and select Run as Administrator.
  3. In the Services window, look for Credential Manager Service and Stop it.
  4. Restart the computer and Start the Credential Manager Service and set it to Automatic.
  5. Then the other is greyed out. So I tried Set-Service -Name CredentialEnrollmentManagerUserSvc_1c445e -StartupType Automatic in PowerShell but I didn't have the access to this, even though I'm the only admin.

Not sure what else to try but this info might serve others well.

See screenshot of the services window and PowerShell output for others to check if your results are similar.

These steps worked for me whereas all others did not.

Go to your Google Account page

  1. Click Security
  2. Enable 2-factor verification at this step.
  3. App passwords
  4. Mail
  5. Windows Computer
  6. Generate
  7. Copy the generated code.
  8. Done
  9. Open Mail in Windows and click on the cog wheel manage accounts+ add accountOther account
  10. Enter your email address associated with the code, your perferred name and lastly paste the password you copied in step 7.
  11. Sign in

Images showing above steps 1-8 in your google account

google account steps

Images showing above steps 9-11 in your Windows 10 Mail App

Mail in Windows 10 steps

These steps worked for me whereas all others did not.

Go to your Google Account page

  1. Click Security
  2. Enable 2-factor verification at this step.
  3. App passwords
  4. Mail
  5. Windows Computer
  6. Generate
  7. Copy the generated code.
  8. Done
  9. Open Mail in Windows and click on the cog wheel manage accounts+ add accountOther account
  10. Enter your email address associated with the code, your perferred name and lastly paste the password you copied in step 7.
  11. Sign in

Images showing above steps 1-8 in your google account

Images showing above steps 9-11 in your Windows 10 Mail App

EDIT

I've rechecked this thread and missed how people have generated a password and entered it not how I have done where I was only presented with 3 options.

So, I've done the same but except for the calendar app. Mail worked fine using this method so I thought this might, but no.

So I ran this command in PowerShell

Get-Service -Name "*Credential*" | Format-List -Property Name, DependentServices

This gave me a list of services and any dependent services which came back with

CredentialEnrollmentManagerUserSvc_1c445e

No sign of the other. Which makes me wonder if this is an account problem. My OS is tied to my MS online account.

Then I tried:

  1. Stop-Service -Name "Credential*" -Force -Confirm in PowerShell
  2. Click on Start and type Services. Right-click on Services and select Run as Administrator.
  3. In the Services window, look for Credential Manager Service and Stop it.
  4. Restart the computer and Start the Credential Manager Service and set it to Automatic.
  5. Then the other is greyed out. So I tried Set-Service -Name CredentialEnrollmentManagerUserSvc_1c445e -StartupType Automatic in PowerShell but I didn't have the access to this, even though I'm the only admin.

Not sure what else to try but this info might serve others well.

See screenshot of the services window and PowerShell output for others to check if your results are similar.

Source Link
Ste
  • 1.2k
  • 2
  • 10
  • 24

These steps worked for me whereas all others did not.

Go to your Google Account page

  1. Click Security
  2. Enable 2-factor verification at this step.
  3. App passwords
  4. Mail
  5. Windows Computer
  6. Generate
  7. Copy the generated code.
  8. Done
  9. Open Mail in Windows and click on the cog wheel manage accounts+ add accountOther account
  10. Enter your email address associated with the code, your perferred name and lastly paste the password you copied in step 7.
  11. Sign in

Images showing above steps 1-8 in your google account

google account steps

Images showing above steps 9-11 in your Windows 10 Mail App

Mail in Windows 10 steps