Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
improved formatting, title; added tag
Source Link
Kamil Maciorowski
  • 75.7k
  • 22
  • 152
  • 229

how How to diff 3three binary files to show only what changed between 1,2 AND and 2,3 and then changed back between 2 and 3?

I have 3three binary files (memory dumps). Call them file1file1,file2 file2,file3 file3. I'm trying to debug some software, and I'm toggling a switch.

file1 = switch off

file2 = switch on

file3 = switch off

  • file1 = switch off

  • file2 = switch on

  • file3 = switch off

I need to know which bytes changed between file1file1 and file2file2, which then also changed back to the same values (as file1file1) in file3file3.

There are a lot of unrelated changes between file1file1,file2 file2 so that diffdiff alone is not enough for me to determine what is changing when I toggle this switch, I'm trying to identify the unique bytes of entropy that change from file1file1,22,3...3,…

I know there are tools such as xxdxxd, diffdiff, vimdiffvimdiff, colordiffcolordiff. I'm just not sure how best to use them for this problem.

how to diff 3 files to show only what changed between 1,2 AND 2,3

I have 3 binary files (memory dumps). Call them file1,file2,file3. I'm trying to debug some software, and I'm toggling a switch.

file1 = switch off

file2 = switch on

file3 = switch off

I need to know which bytes changed between file1 and file2, which then also changed back to the same values (as file1) in file3.

There are a lot of unrelated changes between file1,file2 so that diff alone is not enough for me to determine what is changing when I toggle this switch, I'm trying to identify the unique bytes of entropy that change from file1,2,3...

I know there are tools such as xxd, diff, vimdiff, colordiff. I'm just not sure how best to use them for this problem.

How to diff three binary files to show only what changed between 1 and 2 and then changed back between 2 and 3?

I have three binary files (memory dumps). Call them file1, file2, file3. I'm trying to debug some software, and I'm toggling a switch.

  • file1 = switch off

  • file2 = switch on

  • file3 = switch off

I need to know which bytes changed between file1 and file2, which then also changed back to the same values (as file1) in file3.

There are a lot of unrelated changes between file1, file2 so that diff alone is not enough for me to determine what is changing when I toggle this switch, I'm trying to identify the unique bytes of entropy that change from file1,2,3,…

I know there are tools such as xxd, diff, vimdiff, colordiff. I'm just not sure how best to use them for this problem.

Source Link

how to diff 3 files to show only what changed between 1,2 AND 2,3

I have 3 binary files (memory dumps). Call them file1,file2,file3. I'm trying to debug some software, and I'm toggling a switch.

file1 = switch off

file2 = switch on

file3 = switch off

I need to know which bytes changed between file1 and file2, which then also changed back to the same values (as file1) in file3.

There are a lot of unrelated changes between file1,file2 so that diff alone is not enough for me to determine what is changing when I toggle this switch, I'm trying to identify the unique bytes of entropy that change from file1,2,3...

I know there are tools such as xxd, diff, vimdiff, colordiff. I'm just not sure how best to use them for this problem.