Skip to main content

Timeline for GRUB2 Edits Are Not Taking Effect

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 6, 2021 at 19:12 comment added Adi Prasetyo your q need basic post editing, it can be more readable!
Jun 24, 2019 at 19:52 comment added Eric Johnson Thanks for your input Gabriela. I used etcher to reformat and write to the USB. If I selected GPT/UEFI scheme for writing to the USB, and then try to use that USB to boot by first putting my firmware in EFI mode, my laptop just hangs as soon as I exit "BIOS/EFI" and try to start booting from the USB. I actually tried Rufus as well, using GPT/UEFI scheme option for reformatting and writing the image to the USB with the same results. Only when I reformatted the USB using CSM and modified my laptop's "BIOS/EFI" settings to boot in CSM/legacy mode was I able to boot from USB.
Jun 23, 2019 at 20:44 answer added fixer1234 timeline score: 0
Jun 23, 2019 at 17:11 comment added user931000 * had to set the firmware to boot in CSM legacy mode so that I could boot from USB* Sorry, no, absolutely not. If you had to do that then you burned the USB in a wrong way. If you used Rufus (Windows) with the default options then it'll boot in Legacy/BIOS only. You need to select GPT/UEFI. But also you want to install a multi-boot in the same mode, always. And if your system is UEFI then you also want to install all in such mode which, by the way, makes multi-booting a LOT easier.
Jun 23, 2019 at 16:50 history asked Eric Johnson CC BY-SA 4.0