Skip to main content
Notice removed Draw attention by CommunityBot
Bounty Ended with harrymc's answer chosen by CommunityBot
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1136014903129640961
added 147 characters in body
Source Link
user81496
user81496

Recently I have switched ISPs. In both cases the CAT5 cable goes directly into MY wifi router (ASUS RT-N66U), with no remote management. However, after the switch, WiFi speed has decreased considerably, although the router remained the same. When I do a wired connection to one of the router’s LAN ports, I get the expected speed/bandwidth (100Mbps). On wireless however, the speed is almos 5x slower.

I have tried a different wireless router, different wireless clients (Mac, Windows, iPhone), results are the same. I have even tested live switching the WAN cable between ISPs while both were active, and the change in wifi speed is also immediate.

Edit: I am located in Europe, and for measuring the speed I'm downloading a 1000mb test file hosted by a European network provider (Leaseweb). I also have a VPS hosted there so I could install iperf if necessary. I am not using ISP provided DNS settings, but Cloudflare / Google instead, which also doesn't make a difference.

Recently I have switched ISPs. In both cases the CAT5 cable goes directly into MY wifi router. However, after the switch, WiFi speed has decreased considerably, although the router remained the same. When I do a wired connection to one of the router’s LAN ports, I get the expected speed/bandwidth (100Mbps). On wireless however, the speed is almos 5x slower.

I have tried a different wireless router, different wireless clients (Mac, Windows, iPhone), results are the same. I have even tested live switching the WAN cable between ISPs while both were active, and the change in wifi speed is also immediate.

Edit: I am located in Europe, and for measuring the speed I'm downloading a 1000mb test file hosted by a European network provider (Leaseweb). I am not using ISP provided DNS settings, but Cloudflare / Google instead, which also doesn't make a difference.

Recently I have switched ISPs. In both cases the CAT5 cable goes directly into MY wifi router (ASUS RT-N66U), with no remote management. However, after the switch, WiFi speed has decreased considerably, although the router remained the same. When I do a wired connection to one of the router’s LAN ports, I get the expected speed/bandwidth (100Mbps). On wireless however, the speed is almos 5x slower.

I have tried a different wireless router, different wireless clients (Mac, Windows, iPhone), results are the same. I have even tested live switching the WAN cable between ISPs while both were active, and the change in wifi speed is also immediate.

Edit: I am located in Europe, and for measuring the speed I'm downloading a 1000mb test file hosted by a European network provider (Leaseweb). I also have a VPS hosted there so I could install iperf if necessary. I am not using ISP provided DNS settings, but Cloudflare / Google instead, which also doesn't make a difference.

added 147 characters in body
Source Link
user81496
user81496

Recently I have switched ISPs. In both cases the CAT5 cable goes directly into MY wifi router. However, after the switch, WiFi speed has decreased considerably, although the router remained the same. When I do a wired connection to one of the router’s LAN ports, I get the expected speed/bandwidth (100Mbps). On wireless however, the speed is almos 5x slower.

Note: I have tried a different wireless router, different wireless clients (Mac, Windows, iPhone), results are the same. I have even tested live switching the WAN cable between ISPs while both were active, and the change in wifi speed is also immediate.

Edit: I am located in Europe, and for measuring the speed I'm downloading a 1000mb test file hosted by a European network provider (Leaseweb). I am not using ISP provided DNS settings, but Cloudflare / Google instead, which also doesn't make a difference.

Recently I have switched ISPs. In both cases the CAT5 cable goes directly into MY wifi router. However, after the switch, WiFi speed has decreased considerably, although the router remained the same. When I do a wired connection to one of the router’s LAN ports, I get the expected speed/bandwidth (100Mbps). On wireless however, the speed is almos 5x slower.

Note: I have tried a different wireless router, different wireless clients (Mac, Windows, iPhone), results are the same. I have even tested live switching the WAN cable between ISPs while both were active, and the change in wifi speed is also immediate.

Recently I have switched ISPs. In both cases the CAT5 cable goes directly into MY wifi router. However, after the switch, WiFi speed has decreased considerably, although the router remained the same. When I do a wired connection to one of the router’s LAN ports, I get the expected speed/bandwidth (100Mbps). On wireless however, the speed is almos 5x slower.

I have tried a different wireless router, different wireless clients (Mac, Windows, iPhone), results are the same. I have even tested live switching the WAN cable between ISPs while both were active, and the change in wifi speed is also immediate.

Edit: I am located in Europe, and for measuring the speed I'm downloading a 1000mb test file hosted by a European network provider (Leaseweb). I am not using ISP provided DNS settings, but Cloudflare / Google instead, which also doesn't make a difference.

Notice added Draw attention by user81496
Bounty Started worth 300 reputation by CommunityBot
Source Link
user81496
user81496

Slow WiFi, fast Ethernet after switching ISP

Recently I have switched ISPs. In both cases the CAT5 cable goes directly into MY wifi router. However, after the switch, WiFi speed has decreased considerably, although the router remained the same. When I do a wired connection to one of the router’s LAN ports, I get the expected speed/bandwidth (100Mbps). On wireless however, the speed is almos 5x slower.

Note: I have tried a different wireless router, different wireless clients (Mac, Windows, iPhone), results are the same. I have even tested live switching the WAN cable between ISPs while both were active, and the change in wifi speed is also immediate.