Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Post Closed as "Needs details or clarity" by Seth, I say Reinstate Monica, fixer1234, jonsca, bertieb
Rewording and inlined image.
Source Link
Seth
  • 9.2k
  • 1
  • 22
  • 36

Edit: What exactly happens when I partition an SSD, mounted both, and ran simultaneous disk speed tests?

Example situation(s) in MacOS: https://imgur.com/a/dgxU9gf

Multiple partitions in MacOS

I currently have a 500GB SSD in an external enclosure connected by USB. I'tsIt's split into multiple partitions that backed up different Macbooks. (200GB, All200GB, 100GB). All three are bootable, one is encrypted w/ Filevault (and doesn't automount until you type in the password) and the other two are not. 

I can access all three partitions simultaneously (I'm also spammed w/ reminders from all 3 partitions, but that's off-topic)

 . This encompasses many different aspects, but.....what what exactly is going on here? I have yet to even mention to internal SSD that's partitioned to run bootcamp and a clean install of Mojave.

end of Edit

related Related questions:

What are the drawbacks of doing this? There has a to be hard limits to read/write speed, no? Or else, you could just buy a large SSD and run it in raid 0 by default. It certainly doesn't work this way, does it?

Edit:

Example situation(s) in MacOS: https://imgur.com/a/dgxU9gf

I currently have a 500GB SSD in an external enclosure connected by USB. I'ts split into multiple partitions that backed up different Macbooks. All three are bootable, one is encrypted w/ Filevault (and doesn't automount until you type in the password) and the other two are not. I can access all three partitions simultaneously (I'm also spammed w/ reminders from all 3 partitions, but that's off-topic)

  This encompasses many different aspects, but.....what exactly is going on here? I have yet to even mention to internal SSD that's partitioned to run bootcamp and a clean install of Mojave.

end of Edit

related questions:

What are the drawbacks of doing this? There has a to be hard limits to read/write speed, no? Or else, you could just buy a large SSD and run it in raid 0 by default. It certainly doesn't work this way, does it?

What exactly happens when I partition an SSD, mounted both, and ran simultaneous disk speed tests?

Example in MacOS:

Multiple partitions in MacOS

I currently have a 500GB SSD in an external enclosure connected by USB. It's split into multiple partitions that backed up different Macbooks (200GB, 200GB, 100GB). All three are bootable, one is encrypted w/ Filevault (and doesn't automount until you type in the password) and the other two are not. 

I can access all three partitions simultaneously (I'm also spammed w/ reminders from all 3 partitions, but that's off-topic). This encompasses many different aspects, but what exactly is going on here? I have yet to even mention to internal SSD that's partitioned to run bootcamp and a clean install of Mojave.

Related questions:

What are the drawbacks of doing this? There has a to be hard limits to read/write speed, no? Or else, you could just buy a large SSD and run it in raid 0 by default. It certainly doesn't work this way, does it?

added 42 characters in body; edited title
Source Link

What exactly happens when I partition an SSD and mount, mounted both? What exactly changes, and ran simultaneous disk speed tests?

Edit:

Example situation(s) in MacOS: https://imgur.com/a/dgxU9gf

I currently have a 500GB SSD in an external enclosure connected by USB. I'ts split into multiple partitions that backed up different Macbooks (200GB|200GB|100GB). All three are bootable, one is encrypted w/ Filevault (and doesn't automount until you type in the password) and the other two are not. I can access all three partitions simultaneously (I'm also spammed w/ reminders from all 3 partitions, but that's off-topic)

This encompasses many different aspects, but.....what exactly is going on here? I have yet to even mention to internal SSD that's partitioned to run bootcamp and a clean install of Mojave.

end of Edit

related questions:

What are the drawbacks of doing this? There has a to be hard limits to read/write speed, no? Or else, you could just buy a large SSD and run it in raid 0 by default. It certainly doesn't work this way, does it?

What exactly happens when I partition an SSD and mount both? What exactly changes?

Edit:

Example in MacOS:

I currently have a 500GB SSD in an external enclosure connected by USB. I'ts split into multiple partitions that backed up different Macbooks (200GB|200GB|100GB) All three are bootable, one is encrypted w/ Filevault (and doesn't automount until you type in the password) and the other two are not. I can access all three partitions simultaneously (I'm also spammed w/ reminders from all 3 partitions, but that's off-topic)

This encompasses many different aspects, but.....what exactly is going on here?

end of Edit

related questions:

What are the drawbacks of doing this? There has a to be hard limits to read/write speed, no? Or else, you could just buy a large SSD and run it in raid 0 by default. It certainly doesn't work this way, does it?

What exactly happens when I partition an SSD, mounted both, and ran simultaneous disk speed tests?

Edit:

Example situation(s) in MacOS: https://imgur.com/a/dgxU9gf

I currently have a 500GB SSD in an external enclosure connected by USB. I'ts split into multiple partitions that backed up different Macbooks. All three are bootable, one is encrypted w/ Filevault (and doesn't automount until you type in the password) and the other two are not. I can access all three partitions simultaneously (I'm also spammed w/ reminders from all 3 partitions, but that's off-topic)

This encompasses many different aspects, but.....what exactly is going on here? I have yet to even mention to internal SSD that's partitioned to run bootcamp and a clean install of Mojave.

end of Edit

related questions:

What are the drawbacks of doing this? There has a to be hard limits to read/write speed, no? Or else, you could just buy a large SSD and run it in raid 0 by default. It certainly doesn't work this way, does it?

added 540 characters in body
Source Link

Edit:

Example in MacOS:

I currently have a 500GB SSD in an external enclosure connected by USB. I'ts split into multiple partitions that backed up different Macbooks (200GB|200GB|100GB) All three are bootable, one is encrypted w/ Filevault (and doesn't automount until you type in the password) and the other two are not. I can access all three partitions simultaneously (I'm also spammed w/ reminders from all 3 partitions, but that's off-topic)

This encompasses many different aspects, but.....what exactly is going on here?

end of Edit

related questions:

What are the drawbacks of doing this? There has a to be hard limits to read/write speed, no? Or else, you could just buy a large SSD and run it in raid 0 by default. It certainly doesn't work this way, does it?

related questions:

What are the drawbacks of doing this? There has a to be hard limits to read/write speed, no? Or else, you could just buy a large SSD and run it in raid 0 by default. It certainly doesn't work this way, does it?

Edit:

Example in MacOS:

I currently have a 500GB SSD in an external enclosure connected by USB. I'ts split into multiple partitions that backed up different Macbooks (200GB|200GB|100GB) All three are bootable, one is encrypted w/ Filevault (and doesn't automount until you type in the password) and the other two are not. I can access all three partitions simultaneously (I'm also spammed w/ reminders from all 3 partitions, but that's off-topic)

This encompasses many different aspects, but.....what exactly is going on here?

end of Edit

related questions:

What are the drawbacks of doing this? There has a to be hard limits to read/write speed, no? Or else, you could just buy a large SSD and run it in raid 0 by default. It certainly doesn't work this way, does it?

Source Link
Loading