Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • Shoot, I'm sorry, that is a typo. I edited the command to the correct one.
    – WaterTrash
    Commented May 22, 2019 at 20:29
  • Could you elaborate on the second part? When I run curl -fsSL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Homebrew/install/master/install I get a bunch of output and can't locate a homebrew.rb file.
    – WaterTrash
    Commented May 22, 2019 at 20:32
  • @WaterTrash your edit still says /usr/bin/ruby -e "$(curl... which is not valid fish syntax. Did you try the command I put in my answer? No quotes. No dollar-sign. As for using curl separate from ruby you need to tell curl to save the output: curl -o homebrew.rb .... Commented May 22, 2019 at 20:57
  • Yes, I ran your command and there is no output at all. When I add -o I get: /usr/bin/ruby -e (curl -o -fsSL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Homebrew/install/master/install) % Total % Received % Xferd Average Speed Time Time Time Current Dload Upload Total Spent Left Speed 100 12427 100 12427 0 0 14788 0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:-- 14776 /usr/bin/ruby: no code specified for -e (RuntimeError)
    – WaterTrash
    Commented May 23, 2019 at 15:37
  • You can always change to another shell temporarily if you need to just type the shell name i.e. bash
    – sfscs
    Commented Aug 18, 2021 at 5:15