Skip to main content
added 781 characters in body
Source Link
Andrew Hall
  • 177
  • 2
  • 10

I have a mobile app which connects to my cars wifi and reports data on it. The app must be connected to the AP the car provides in order to work - I have tested whether the car connects to a public internet api and the phone retrieves this data but this is not the case. It seems that phone directly connects to the car (via the provided AP) in some way.

I am trying to see the network traffic here to replicate the functionality outside of the provided app.

Things I have tried:

  • Viewing HTTP and HTTPS traffic via Proxy (running app via proxy)
  • Running wireshark on a device also connected to the car AP (where the phone is connected to)

Viewing HTTP and HTTPS traffic via Proxy (running app via proxy)

To do this, I connected the phone directly to the AP as required but proxied the phones HTTP and HTTPS traffic via mitmproxy running on a laptop on the same network. Running the app showed traffic but not for the related items Im after (which update in the app)

Running wireshark

I ran wireshark on a laptop connected to the same network (as described above) and captured all traffic. I then loaded the app and reviewed the capture. There seemed to be no direct network connectivty between the devices. There was a broadcast message from the AP, giving an address and description of an API but the phone never seems to then connect to this - I think it may be irrelevant for my needs. (I tried to telnet to the address/port described and it returned what looked like xml, but i was unable to send any traffic to get any more information)

Neither seemmethod I have tried seems to show meaningful traffic between the two devices.

Is there something obvious Ive missed? What else can I try to view the phone communicating with the car?

I have a mobile app which connects to my cars wifi and reports data on it. The app must be connected to the AP the car provides in order to work - I have tested whether the car connects to a public internet api and the phone retrieves this data but this is not the case. It seems that phone directly connects to the car (via the provided AP) in some way.

I am trying to see the network traffic here to replicate the functionality outside of the provided app.

Things I have tried:

  • Viewing HTTP and HTTPS traffic via Proxy (running app via proxy)
  • Running wireshark on a device also connected to the car AP (where the phone is connected to)

Neither seem to show meaningful traffic between the two devices.

Is there something obvious Ive missed? What else can I try to view the phone communicating with the car?

I have a mobile app which connects to my cars wifi and reports data on it. The app must be connected to the AP the car provides in order to work - I have tested whether the car connects to a public internet api and the phone retrieves this data but this is not the case. It seems that phone directly connects to the car (via the provided AP) in some way.

I am trying to see the network traffic here to replicate the functionality outside of the provided app.

Things I have tried:

Viewing HTTP and HTTPS traffic via Proxy (running app via proxy)

To do this, I connected the phone directly to the AP as required but proxied the phones HTTP and HTTPS traffic via mitmproxy running on a laptop on the same network. Running the app showed traffic but not for the related items Im after (which update in the app)

Running wireshark

I ran wireshark on a laptop connected to the same network (as described above) and captured all traffic. I then loaded the app and reviewed the capture. There seemed to be no direct network connectivty between the devices. There was a broadcast message from the AP, giving an address and description of an API but the phone never seems to then connect to this - I think it may be irrelevant for my needs. (I tried to telnet to the address/port described and it returned what looked like xml, but i was unable to send any traffic to get any more information)

Neither method I have tried seems to show meaningful traffic between the two devices.

Is there something obvious Ive missed? What else can I try to view the phone communicating with the car?

Source Link
Andrew Hall
  • 177
  • 2
  • 10

How can I view the traffic of this application?

I have a mobile app which connects to my cars wifi and reports data on it. The app must be connected to the AP the car provides in order to work - I have tested whether the car connects to a public internet api and the phone retrieves this data but this is not the case. It seems that phone directly connects to the car (via the provided AP) in some way.

I am trying to see the network traffic here to replicate the functionality outside of the provided app.

Things I have tried:

  • Viewing HTTP and HTTPS traffic via Proxy (running app via proxy)
  • Running wireshark on a device also connected to the car AP (where the phone is connected to)

Neither seem to show meaningful traffic between the two devices.

Is there something obvious Ive missed? What else can I try to view the phone communicating with the car?