Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • Yep, found those too. I cannot find this "Uninstall windows installer" anywhere. I also tried to download and install all of the files from Windows Installer link you've provided, but none of them seem to work on Win7. Afaik, Win7 uses Windows Installer 5, which I cannot find anywhere for download. Commented May 18, 2010 at 20:48
  • What version of Windows 7 are you using? And, did you install/upgrade Win7 yourself, or is this from an OEM (Dell, HP, Lenovo, etc)?
    – spong
    Commented May 18, 2010 at 21:32
  • I had originally Win Vista Ultimate, which I upgraded to Win7 Ultimate. All done by myself. Commented May 19, 2010 at 5:49
  • Have you had trouble installing any other programs besides VS2010/VS2008? I've upgraded my PC from Vista Ult to Win7 Ult 64-bit without a hitch, but I did a fresh install, not an upgrade. I do some development on it too with VS2008/VS2010. When it's something as important as a new OS, I always do fresh install over upgrade.
    – spong
    Commented May 19, 2010 at 14:35
  • I hadn't problems with anything until now. I even had installed VS2008 before, uninstalled it and when I tried to install VS2010, this happened. Only other weird thing that keeps happening from this point is crashing of AdAware, but don't know if it has something to do with it. Commented May 20, 2010 at 10:36