Skip to main content
Rollback to Revision 2
Link
Martin Prikryl
  • 22.7k
  • 10
  • 83
  • 164

How do I setup ftp/sftp using anon aws EC2 instance

How do I setup ftp/sftp onusing an aws EC2 instance

added 93 characters in body
Source Link
user11020868
  • 399
  • 2
  • 4
  • 9

I want to shares files with a client over the internet and am looking into ftp solutions on aws. I have tried aws sftp, but setting role policies is awkward and the service seems a bit costly for my basic use case. Is there an alternate way to setup an ftp server on EC2 or S3 that non-aws users can access. I want to add read permissions for different users for different subdirectories. I am using macosx. 

I tried following instructions on https://stackoverflow.com/questions/7052875/setting-up-ftp-on-amazon-cloud-server without much luckbut it is not clear how I can permission non-aws users to see my files and I couldn't get vsftpd working.

Is there a recommended/standard aws setup for sharing files with non aws users, preferably securely (sftp). I would be sharing updated files a few times a day every day with hundreds of users.

I want to shares files with a client over the internet and am looking into ftp solutions on aws. I have tried aws sftp, but setting role policies is awkward and the service seems a bit costly for my basic use case. Is there an alternate way to setup an ftp server on EC2 or S3 that non-aws users can access. I want to add read permissions for different users for different subdirectories. I am using macosx. I tried following instructions on https://stackoverflow.com/questions/7052875/setting-up-ftp-on-amazon-cloud-server without much luck.

I want to shares files with a client over the internet and am looking into ftp solutions on aws. I have tried aws sftp, but setting role policies is awkward and the service seems a bit costly for my basic use case. Is there an alternate way to setup an ftp server on EC2 or S3 that non-aws users can access. I want to add read permissions for different users for different subdirectories. I am using macosx. 

I tried following instructions on https://stackoverflow.com/questions/7052875/setting-up-ftp-on-amazon-cloud-server but it is not clear how I can permission non-aws users to see my files and I couldn't get vsftpd working.

Is there a recommended/standard aws setup for sharing files with non aws users, preferably securely (sftp). I would be sharing updated files a few times a day every day with hundreds of users.

Source Link
user11020868
  • 399
  • 2
  • 4
  • 9
Loading