Skip to main content
Small editorial correction 2
Source Link
Anna
  • 1
  • 3

I have been struggling with high CPU usage for a pretty long time, the issue happens when I do a full reboot of my laptop (a DELL Precision M6800, Windows 7, 64bits), it happens in the ACPI.sys process (I found this via the Kernrate tool from Microsoft) and the CPU usage stays between 9% and 12%. If I restart the laptop, the issue disappears.

Today, I ran into a post in this forum (Troubleshoot High CPU usage by the "System" process) where the user magicandre1981 provides a pretty detailed guidance on trying to find the cause of this issue, which I find very informative and helpful.

After installing and running the WPR tool suggested by magicandre1981 in his answer to the above-mentioned post, I got the attached CPU usage chart where it seems that the main problem is in the function DefPortWriteAcpiRegister in ACPI.sys. In another post I found in another forum (https://msfn.org/board/topic/140263-how-to-get-the-cause-of-high-cpu-usage-by-dpc-interrupt/?page=80) magicandre1981 (I assumed is the same user) suggests that in this case the issue might be due to a temperature problem in the laptop, but I am not sure how to check this. Any further advice on how to solve this issue will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance and best regards,

Ana

Capture_DELL_PrecisionM6800_WPR_CPUusage_20190301

I have been struggling with high CPU usage for a pretty long time, the issue happens when I do a full reboot of my laptop (a DELL Precision M6800, Windows 7, 64bits), it happens in the ACPI.sys process (I found this via the Kernrate tool from Microsoft) and the CPU usage stays between 9% and 12%. If I restart the laptop, the issue disappears.

Today, I ran into a post in this forum (Troubleshoot High CPU usage by the "System" process) where the user magicandre1981 provides a pretty detailed guidance on trying to find the cause of this issue, which I find very informative and helpful.

After installing and running the WPR tool suggested by magicandre1981 in his answer to the above-mentioned post, I got the attached CPU usage chart where it seems that the main problem is in the function DefPortWriteAcpiRegister in ACPI.sys. In another post I found in another forum (https://msfn.org/board/topic/140263-how-to-get-the-cause-of-high-cpu-usage-by-dpc-interrupt/?page=80) magicandre1981 (I assumed is the same user) suggests that in this case the issue might be due to a temperature problem in the laptop, but I am not sure how to check this. Any further advice on how to solve this issue will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance and best regards,

Ana

Capture_DELL_PrecisionM6800_WPR_CPUusage_20190301

I have been struggling with high CPU usage for a pretty long time, the issue happens when I do a full reboot of my laptop (a DELL Precision M6800, Windows 7, 64bits), it happens in the ACPI.sys process (I found this via the Kernrate tool from Microsoft) and the CPU usage stays between 9% and 12%. If I restart the laptop, the issue disappears.

Today, I ran into a post in this forum (Troubleshoot High CPU usage by the "System" process) where the user magicandre1981 provides a pretty detailed guidance on trying to find the cause of this issue, which I find very informative and helpful.

After installing and running the WPR tool suggested by magicandre1981 in his answer to the above-mentioned post, I got the attached CPU usage chart where it seems that the main problem is in the function DefPortWriteAcpiRegister in ACPI.sys. In another post I found in another forum (https://msfn.org/board/topic/140263-how-to-get-the-cause-of-high-cpu-usage-by-dpc-interrupt/?page=80) magicandre1981 (I assumed is the same user) suggests that in this case the issue might be due to a temperature problem in the laptop, but I am not sure how to check this. Any further advice on how to solve this issue will be greatly appreciated.

Capture_DELL_PrecisionM6800_WPR_CPUusage_20190301

Source Link
Anna
  • 1
  • 3

High CPU usage - seems to be in the function DefPortWriteAcpiRegister in ACPI.sys

I have been struggling with high CPU usage for a pretty long time, the issue happens when I do a full reboot of my laptop (a DELL Precision M6800, Windows 7, 64bits), it happens in the ACPI.sys process (I found this via the Kernrate tool from Microsoft) and the CPU usage stays between 9% and 12%. If I restart the laptop, the issue disappears.

Today, I ran into a post in this forum (Troubleshoot High CPU usage by the "System" process) where the user magicandre1981 provides a pretty detailed guidance on trying to find the cause of this issue, which I find very informative and helpful.

After installing and running the WPR tool suggested by magicandre1981 in his answer to the above-mentioned post, I got the attached CPU usage chart where it seems that the main problem is in the function DefPortWriteAcpiRegister in ACPI.sys. In another post I found in another forum (https://msfn.org/board/topic/140263-how-to-get-the-cause-of-high-cpu-usage-by-dpc-interrupt/?page=80) magicandre1981 (I assumed is the same user) suggests that in this case the issue might be due to a temperature problem in the laptop, but I am not sure how to check this. Any further advice on how to solve this issue will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance and best regards,

Ana

Capture_DELL_PrecisionM6800_WPR_CPUusage_20190301