Skip to main content
deleted 1 character in body
Source Link
DDS
  • 741
  • 8
  • 19

I'm very prone to looselose usb dongles, I want now to configure windows 'scheduled task' that each time it sees an event with 'insertion' of my drive it copys all the content in a specific folder (c>\usb_backups\<UUID>\<today's date>\)

Now I'm tracking event 2003 (usb drive mount) that contains the ID, but I'm not able to discover on wich drive letter the drive is mounted on.

The script invoked should be something like:

@xcopy /E /C /Q /H /Y %%sourcedrive%%\ %systemdrive%\usb_backups\%%UUID%%\%%date%%\

But, right now, I don't know how to set %%sourcedrive%% and %%UUID%% variables.

I'm very prone to loose usb dongles, I want now to configure windows 'scheduled task' that each time it sees an event with 'insertion' of my drive it copys all the content in a specific folder (c>\usb_backups\<UUID>\<today's date>\)

Now I'm tracking event 2003 (usb drive mount) that contains the ID, but I'm not able to discover on wich drive letter the drive is mounted on.

The script invoked should be something like:

@xcopy /E /C /Q /H /Y %%sourcedrive%%\ %systemdrive%\usb_backups\%%UUID%%\%%date%%\

But, right now, I don't know how to set %%sourcedrive%% and %%UUID%% variables.

I'm very prone to lose usb dongles, I want now to configure windows 'scheduled task' that each time it sees an event with 'insertion' of my drive it copys all the content in a specific folder (c>\usb_backups\<UUID>\<today's date>\)

Now I'm tracking event 2003 (usb drive mount) that contains the ID, but I'm not able to discover on wich drive letter the drive is mounted on.

The script invoked should be something like:

@xcopy /E /C /Q /H /Y %%sourcedrive%%\ %systemdrive%\usb_backups\%%UUID%%\%%date%%\

But, right now, I don't know how to set %%sourcedrive%% and %%UUID%% variables.

Source Link
DDS
  • 741
  • 8
  • 19

Windows - automatic backup of usb drives

I'm very prone to loose usb dongles, I want now to configure windows 'scheduled task' that each time it sees an event with 'insertion' of my drive it copys all the content in a specific folder (c>\usb_backups\<UUID>\<today's date>\)

Now I'm tracking event 2003 (usb drive mount) that contains the ID, but I'm not able to discover on wich drive letter the drive is mounted on.

The script invoked should be something like:

@xcopy /E /C /Q /H /Y %%sourcedrive%%\ %systemdrive%\usb_backups\%%UUID%%\%%date%%\

But, right now, I don't know how to set %%sourcedrive%% and %%UUID%% variables.