Skip to main content
added 75 characters in body
Source Link
Kyoma
  • 111
  • 1
  • 5

Host: Windows 10 64-bit

Guest: Ubuntu 16.04 32-bit

Networking: Wireless. Home network.

Host can ping Guest, and Guest can ping Host. Guest can also ping router. However, when I ping from my Guest to other hosts in LAN (when using bridged networking), the error returned is:

From <Guest's IP address> Destination Host Unreachable

I used Wireshark to troubleshoot and I saw the ARP to be like this:

Source: Host's MAC, Destination: Router, <Host's IP address is at Host's MAC> 
Source: Guest's MAC, Destination: Router, <Guest's IP address is at Guest's MAC>
Source: Host's MAC, Destination: Router, <Guest's IP address is at HOST's MAC>

So, there is a duplicate IP! My guest is unable to get the ARP reply from the other hosts in the LAN. I checked it with arp -a in the guest, and it is indeed incomplete for the other hosts in the LAN.

Do you guys have any idea?

ADDITIONAL INFO: The Guest is able to miraculously ping other hosts in the LAN in the afternoon, but then it could not.

Host: Windows 10 64-bit

Guest: Ubuntu 16.04 32-bit

Networking: Wireless. Home network.

Host can ping Guest, and Guest can ping Host. Guest can also ping router. However, when I ping from my Guest to other hosts in LAN (when using bridged networking), the error returned is:

From <Guest's IP address> Destination Host Unreachable

I used Wireshark to troubleshoot and I saw the ARP to be like this:

Source: Guest's MAC, Destination: Router, <Guest's IP address is at Guest's MAC>
Source: Host's MAC, Destination: Router, <Guest's IP address is at HOST's MAC>

So, there is a duplicate IP! My guest is unable to get the ARP reply from the other hosts in the LAN. I checked it with arp -a in the guest, and it is indeed incomplete for the other hosts in the LAN.

Do you guys have any idea?

ADDITIONAL INFO: The Guest is able to miraculously ping other hosts in the LAN in the afternoon, but then it could not.

Host: Windows 10 64-bit

Guest: Ubuntu 16.04 32-bit

Networking: Wireless. Home network.

Host can ping Guest, and Guest can ping Host. Guest can also ping router. However, when I ping from my Guest to other hosts in LAN (when using bridged networking), the error returned is:

From <Guest's IP address> Destination Host Unreachable

I used Wireshark to troubleshoot and I saw the ARP to be like

Source: Host's MAC, Destination: Router, <Host's IP address is at Host's MAC> 
Source: Guest's MAC, Destination: Router, <Guest's IP address is at Guest's MAC>
Source: Host's MAC, Destination: Router, <Guest's IP address is at HOST's MAC>

So, there is a duplicate IP! My guest is unable to get the ARP reply from the other hosts in the LAN. I checked it with arp -a in the guest, and it is indeed incomplete for the other hosts in the LAN.

Do you guys have any idea?

ADDITIONAL INFO: The Guest is able to miraculously ping other hosts in the LAN in the afternoon, but then it could not.

added 123 characters in body
Source Link
Kyoma
  • 111
  • 1
  • 5

Host: Windows 10 64-bit

Guest: Ubuntu 16.04 32-bit

Networking: Wireless. Home network.

Host can ping Guest, and Guest can ping Host. Guest can also ping router. However, when I ping from my Guest to other hosts in LAN (when using bridged networking), the error returned is:

From <Guest's IP address> Destination Host Unreachable

I used Wireshark to troubleshoot and I saw the ARP to be like this:

Source: Guest's MAC, Destination: Router, <Guest's IP address is at Guest's MAC>
Source: Host's MAC, Destination: Router, <Guest's IP address is at HOST's MAC>

So, there is a duplicate IP! My guest is unable to get the ARP reply from the other hosts in the LAN. I checked it with arp -a in the guest, and it is indeed incomplete for the other hosts in the LAN.

Do you guys have any idea?

ADDITIONAL INFO: The Guest is able to miraculously ping other hosts in the LAN in the afternoon, but then it could not.

Host: Windows 10 64-bit

Guest: Ubuntu 16.04 32-bit

Networking: Wireless

Host can ping Guest, and Guest can ping Host. Guest can also ping router. However, when I ping from my Guest to other hosts in LAN (when using bridged networking), the error returned is:

From <Guest's IP address> Destination Host Unreachable

I used Wireshark to troubleshoot and I saw the ARP to be like this:

Source: Guest's MAC, Destination: Router, <Guest's IP address is at Guest's MAC>
Source: Host's MAC, Destination: Router, <Guest's IP address is at HOST's MAC>

So, there is a duplicate IP! My guest is unable to get the ARP reply from the other hosts in the LAN. I checked it with arp -a in the guest, and it is indeed incomplete for the other hosts in the LAN.

Do you guys have any idea?

Host: Windows 10 64-bit

Guest: Ubuntu 16.04 32-bit

Networking: Wireless. Home network.

Host can ping Guest, and Guest can ping Host. Guest can also ping router. However, when I ping from my Guest to other hosts in LAN (when using bridged networking), the error returned is:

From <Guest's IP address> Destination Host Unreachable

I used Wireshark to troubleshoot and I saw the ARP to be like this:

Source: Guest's MAC, Destination: Router, <Guest's IP address is at Guest's MAC>
Source: Host's MAC, Destination: Router, <Guest's IP address is at HOST's MAC>

So, there is a duplicate IP! My guest is unable to get the ARP reply from the other hosts in the LAN. I checked it with arp -a in the guest, and it is indeed incomplete for the other hosts in the LAN.

Do you guys have any idea?

ADDITIONAL INFO: The Guest is able to miraculously ping other hosts in the LAN in the afternoon, but then it could not.

added 24 characters in body
Source Link
Kyoma
  • 111
  • 1
  • 5

Host: Windows 10 64-bit

Guest: Ubuntu 16.04 32-bit

Networking: Wireless

Host can ping Guest, and Guest can ping Host. Guest can also ping router. However, when I ping from my Guest to other hosts in LAN (when using bridged networking), the error returned is:

From <Guest's IP address> Destination Host Unreachable

I used Wireshark to troubleshoot and I saw the ARP to be like this:

Source: Guest's MAC, Destination: Router, <Guest's IP address is at Guest's MAC>
Source: Host's MAC, Destination: Router, <Guest's IP address is at HOST's MAC>

So, there is a duplicate IP! My guest is unable to get the ARP reply from the other hosts in the LAN. I checked it with arp -a in the guest, and it is indeed incomplete for the other hosts in the LAN.

Do you guys have any idea?

Host: Windows 10 64-bit

Guest: Ubuntu 16.04 32-bit

Host can ping Guest, and Guest can ping Host. Guest can also ping router. However, when I ping from my Guest to other hosts in LAN (when using bridged networking), the error returned is:

From <Guest's IP address> Destination Host Unreachable

I used Wireshark to troubleshoot and I saw the ARP to be like this:

Source: Guest's MAC, Destination: Router, <Guest's IP address is at Guest's MAC>
Source: Host's MAC, Destination: Router, <Guest's IP address is at HOST's MAC>

So, there is a duplicate IP! My guest is unable to get the ARP reply from the other hosts in the LAN. I checked it with arp -a in the guest, and it is indeed incomplete for the other hosts in the LAN.

Do you guys have any idea?

Host: Windows 10 64-bit

Guest: Ubuntu 16.04 32-bit

Networking: Wireless

Host can ping Guest, and Guest can ping Host. Guest can also ping router. However, when I ping from my Guest to other hosts in LAN (when using bridged networking), the error returned is:

From <Guest's IP address> Destination Host Unreachable

I used Wireshark to troubleshoot and I saw the ARP to be like this:

Source: Guest's MAC, Destination: Router, <Guest's IP address is at Guest's MAC>
Source: Host's MAC, Destination: Router, <Guest's IP address is at HOST's MAC>

So, there is a duplicate IP! My guest is unable to get the ARP reply from the other hosts in the LAN. I checked it with arp -a in the guest, and it is indeed incomplete for the other hosts in the LAN.

Do you guys have any idea?

Source Link
Kyoma
  • 111
  • 1
  • 5
Loading