Skip to main content
deleted 125 characters in body
Source Link

I know that when some things (errors, crashes, etc) happen in Windows, Windows does not alert you at directly. With Windows updates, will you always get an alert or does Windows not tell you. Here is something that I was reading that peaked my curiosity: https://community.tenable.com/s/article/How-to-Get-a-List-of-All-of-the-Installed-Updates-on-Windows "It is possible for an update to show as installed in the 'View Installed Updates' section and Not show up in the qfe list. That is usually an indication that the update did not install correctly or fully."

Edit: Since it doesn't alert you, how can I view a list of updates that installed incorrectly or didn't install at all?

I know that when some things (errors, crashes, etc) happen in Windows, Windows does not alert you at directly. With Windows updates, will you always get an alert or does Windows not tell you. Here is something that I was reading that peaked my curiosity: https://community.tenable.com/s/article/How-to-Get-a-List-of-All-of-the-Installed-Updates-on-Windows "It is possible for an update to show as installed in the 'View Installed Updates' section and Not show up in the qfe list. That is usually an indication that the update did not install correctly or fully."

Edit: Since it doesn't alert you, how can I view a list of updates that installed incorrectly or didn't install at all?

I know that when some things (errors, crashes, etc) happen in Windows, Windows does not alert you at directly. With Windows updates, will you always get an alert or does Windows not tell you. Here is something that I was reading that peaked my curiosity: https://community.tenable.com/s/article/How-to-Get-a-List-of-All-of-the-Installed-Updates-on-Windows "It is possible for an update to show as installed in the 'View Installed Updates' section and Not show up in the qfe list. That is usually an indication that the update did not install correctly or fully."

Follow up question after reading comment 1
Source Link

I know that when some things (errors, crashes, etc) happen in Windows, Windows does not alert you at directly. With Windows updates, will you always get an alert or does Windows not tell you. Here is something that I was reading that peaked my curiosity: https://community.tenable.com/s/article/How-to-Get-a-List-of-All-of-the-Installed-Updates-on-Windows "It is possible for an update to show as installed in the 'View Installed Updates' section and Not show up in the qfe list. That is usually an indication that the update did not install correctly or fully."

Edit: Since it doesn't alert you, how can I view a list of updates that installed incorrectly or didn't install at all?

I know that when some things (errors, crashes, etc) happen in Windows, Windows does not alert you at directly. With Windows updates, will you always get an alert or does Windows not tell you. Here is something that I was reading that peaked my curiosity: https://community.tenable.com/s/article/How-to-Get-a-List-of-All-of-the-Installed-Updates-on-Windows "It is possible for an update to show as installed in the 'View Installed Updates' section and Not show up in the qfe list. That is usually an indication that the update did not install correctly or fully."

I know that when some things (errors, crashes, etc) happen in Windows, Windows does not alert you at directly. With Windows updates, will you always get an alert or does Windows not tell you. Here is something that I was reading that peaked my curiosity: https://community.tenable.com/s/article/How-to-Get-a-List-of-All-of-the-Installed-Updates-on-Windows "It is possible for an update to show as installed in the 'View Installed Updates' section and Not show up in the qfe list. That is usually an indication that the update did not install correctly or fully."

Edit: Since it doesn't alert you, how can I view a list of updates that installed incorrectly or didn't install at all?

Source Link

Does Windows 8.1 Alert You if an update fails

I know that when some things (errors, crashes, etc) happen in Windows, Windows does not alert you at directly. With Windows updates, will you always get an alert or does Windows not tell you. Here is something that I was reading that peaked my curiosity: https://community.tenable.com/s/article/How-to-Get-a-List-of-All-of-the-Installed-Updates-on-Windows "It is possible for an update to show as installed in the 'View Installed Updates' section and Not show up in the qfe list. That is usually an indication that the update did not install correctly or fully."