Skip to main content
Rearrange sentence for better understanding.
Source Link
Erik
  • 1
  • 1

It looks like your goal is to shrink the size of the partition, and that Windows will not shrink it because of the $BadClus file, which exists due bad clusters.

I have an alternate solution for you which should shrink the drive without having to directly deal with the $BadClus file. Use Partition Wizard to shrink the partition. Partition Wizard is easy to use, is free for non-commercial use, can be run from inside Windows with a GUI, or from a CD or USB boot which runs a small Linux then gives you the same GUI. This program can also recover erased partitions, and convert between MBR and GPT partition tables.

I have run into problems with Windows not shrinking a partition past a certain point, then I will try Partition Wizard on the same partition which does it with no problem. I suppose the Partition Wizard is willing to ignore the $BadClus file. I have been using this program for over 8 years and finally bought the Pro version, because they earned it. I found this program as a replacement for PQMagic that I bought in 1996, which was a fabulous DOS partitioning program for smaller drives that I bought in 1996.

It looks like your goal is to shrink the size of the partition, and that Windows will not shrink it because of the $BadClus file, which exists due bad clusters.

I have an alternate solution for you which should shrink the drive without having to directly deal with the $BadClus file. Use Partition Wizard to shrink the partition. Partition Wizard is easy to use, is free for non-commercial use, can be run from inside Windows with a GUI, or from a CD or USB boot which runs a small Linux then gives you the same GUI. This program can also recover erased partitions, and convert between MBR and GPT partition tables.

I have run into problems with Windows not shrinking a partition past a certain point, then I will try Partition Wizard on the same partition which does it with no problem. I suppose the Partition Wizard is willing to ignore the $BadClus file. I have been using this program for over 8 years and finally bought the Pro version, because they earned it. I found this program as a replacement for PQMagic, which was a fabulous DOS partitioning program for smaller drives that I bought in 1996.

It looks like your goal is to shrink the size of the partition, and that Windows will not shrink it because of the $BadClus file, which exists due bad clusters.

I have an alternate solution for you which should shrink the drive without having to directly deal with the $BadClus file. Use Partition Wizard to shrink the partition. Partition Wizard is easy to use, is free for non-commercial use, can be run from inside Windows with a GUI, or from a CD or USB boot which runs a small Linux then gives you the same GUI. This program can also recover erased partitions, and convert between MBR and GPT partition tables.

I have run into problems with Windows not shrinking a partition past a certain point, then I will try Partition Wizard on the same partition which does it with no problem. I suppose the Partition Wizard is willing to ignore the $BadClus file. I have been using this program for over 8 years and finally bought the Pro version, because they earned it. I found this program as a replacement for PQMagic that I bought in 1996, which was a fabulous DOS partitioning program for smaller drives.

Source Link
Erik
  • 1
  • 1

It looks like your goal is to shrink the size of the partition, and that Windows will not shrink it because of the $BadClus file, which exists due bad clusters.

I have an alternate solution for you which should shrink the drive without having to directly deal with the $BadClus file. Use Partition Wizard to shrink the partition. Partition Wizard is easy to use, is free for non-commercial use, can be run from inside Windows with a GUI, or from a CD or USB boot which runs a small Linux then gives you the same GUI. This program can also recover erased partitions, and convert between MBR and GPT partition tables.

I have run into problems with Windows not shrinking a partition past a certain point, then I will try Partition Wizard on the same partition which does it with no problem. I suppose the Partition Wizard is willing to ignore the $BadClus file. I have been using this program for over 8 years and finally bought the Pro version, because they earned it. I found this program as a replacement for PQMagic, which was a fabulous DOS partitioning program for smaller drives that I bought in 1996.