Skip to main content
Add info about my efforts to solve the problem
Source Link

I copied (cut & paste) some files from my netbook onto my external hard drive. While copying, the complete OS froze and did not react for a considerable amount of time, so I decided to restart. After restart, I have found that not all files were copied properly.

Now, there are corrputed files on the hard disk that cannot be removed with neither rm nor any file manager. The error message is: "File or directory not found". Just re-copying the remaining files will also result in the same error.

  • Operating system: Lubuntu 18.04 LTS
  • External hard disk file system: NTFS

How is it possible to remove those files?

EDIT: I only have Linux tools available (i.e., no chkdsk). I have tried ntfsfix -bd /dev/sdc1 as superuser, but that did not resolve my issue. Now, I'm running testdisk, which takes a considerable amount of time, so I will not know the results before tomorrow.

I copied (cut & paste) some files from my netbook onto my external hard drive. While copying, the complete OS froze and did not react for a considerable amount of time, so I decided to restart. After restart, I have found that not all files were copied properly.

Now, there are corrputed files on the hard disk that cannot be removed with neither rm nor any file manager. The error message is: "File or directory not found". Just re-copying the remaining files will also result in the same error.

  • Operating system: Lubuntu 18.04 LTS
  • External hard disk file system: NTFS

How is it possible to remove those files?

I copied (cut & paste) some files from my netbook onto my external hard drive. While copying, the complete OS froze and did not react for a considerable amount of time, so I decided to restart. After restart, I have found that not all files were copied properly.

Now, there are corrputed files on the hard disk that cannot be removed with neither rm nor any file manager. The error message is: "File or directory not found". Just re-copying the remaining files will also result in the same error.

  • Operating system: Lubuntu 18.04 LTS
  • External hard disk file system: NTFS

How is it possible to remove those files?

EDIT: I only have Linux tools available (i.e., no chkdsk). I have tried ntfsfix -bd /dev/sdc1 as superuser, but that did not resolve my issue. Now, I'm running testdisk, which takes a considerable amount of time, so I will not know the results before tomorrow.

Source Link

Unable to delete corrputed files on external hard drive: "File or directory not found"

I copied (cut & paste) some files from my netbook onto my external hard drive. While copying, the complete OS froze and did not react for a considerable amount of time, so I decided to restart. After restart, I have found that not all files were copied properly.

Now, there are corrputed files on the hard disk that cannot be removed with neither rm nor any file manager. The error message is: "File or directory not found". Just re-copying the remaining files will also result in the same error.

  • Operating system: Lubuntu 18.04 LTS
  • External hard disk file system: NTFS

How is it possible to remove those files?