Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
added 145 characters in body
Source Link
cheslijones
  • 609
  • 1
  • 9
  • 17

I was playing with getting rid of my BIOS RAID 0 and using AHCI. This would destroy the RAID 0 meaning I'd have to create a software RAID with Windows.

After converting to AHCI and doing a clean install of Windows, however, I was unable to do so in Disk Management.Both drives are identical, except the C:\ had the OS on it. It shows the other drive as unallocated space. The option for creating a striped or spanned volume is not available.

I shrunk the C:\ to have more unallocated space on the drive with the OS. This presented a few issues:

  1. Right-clicking the unallocated space on either drive, the striped volume was no clickable. However, the Window that comes up didn't allow me to select the other drive's unallocated space.
  2. Spanned volume was now also clickable, but same thing: couldn't select the unallocated space on the other drive.

Is what I was trying to do even possible (shrinking the C:\ and combing that unallocated space with a 2nd unallocaed drive)? If so, what am I doing wrong?

Would it make any difference if unallocated the space on the C:\ during install of the OS as opposed to using Disk Manager after the install?

I was playing with getting rid of my BIOS RAID 0 and using AHCI. This would destroy the RAID 0 meaning I'd have to create a software RAID with Windows.

After converting to AHCI and doing a clean install of Windows, however, I was unable to do so in Disk Management.Both drives are identical, except the C:\ had the OS on it. It shows the other drive as unallocated space. The option for creating a striped or spanned volume is not available.

I shrunk the C:\ to have more unallocated space on the drive with the OS. This presented a few issues:

  1. Right-clicking the unallocated space on either drive, the striped volume was no clickable. However, the Window that comes up didn't allow me to select the other drive's unallocated space.
  2. Spanned volume was now also clickable, but same thing: couldn't select the unallocated space on the other drive.

Is what I was trying to do even possible (shrinking the C:\ and combing that unallocated space with a 2nd unallocaed drive)? If so, what am I doing wrong?

I was playing with getting rid of my BIOS RAID 0 and using AHCI. This would destroy the RAID 0 meaning I'd have to create a software RAID with Windows.

After converting to AHCI and doing a clean install of Windows, however, I was unable to do so in Disk Management.Both drives are identical, except the C:\ had the OS on it. It shows the other drive as unallocated space. The option for creating a striped or spanned volume is not available.

I shrunk the C:\ to have more unallocated space on the drive with the OS. This presented a few issues:

  1. Right-clicking the unallocated space on either drive, the striped volume was no clickable. However, the Window that comes up didn't allow me to select the other drive's unallocated space.
  2. Spanned volume was now also clickable, but same thing: couldn't select the unallocated space on the other drive.

Is what I was trying to do even possible (shrinking the C:\ and combing that unallocated space with a 2nd unallocaed drive)? If so, what am I doing wrong?

Would it make any difference if unallocated the space on the C:\ during install of the OS as opposed to using Disk Manager after the install?

Source Link
cheslijones
  • 609
  • 1
  • 9
  • 17

Can't add unallocated 2nd drive to C:\ in either striped or spanned volume

I was playing with getting rid of my BIOS RAID 0 and using AHCI. This would destroy the RAID 0 meaning I'd have to create a software RAID with Windows.

After converting to AHCI and doing a clean install of Windows, however, I was unable to do so in Disk Management.Both drives are identical, except the C:\ had the OS on it. It shows the other drive as unallocated space. The option for creating a striped or spanned volume is not available.

I shrunk the C:\ to have more unallocated space on the drive with the OS. This presented a few issues:

  1. Right-clicking the unallocated space on either drive, the striped volume was no clickable. However, the Window that comes up didn't allow me to select the other drive's unallocated space.
  2. Spanned volume was now also clickable, but same thing: couldn't select the unallocated space on the other drive.

Is what I was trying to do even possible (shrinking the C:\ and combing that unallocated space with a 2nd unallocaed drive)? If so, what am I doing wrong?