Skip to main content
5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 29, 2021 at 18:09 comment added Run5k @joedotnot I think that the simple answer is "no." To elaborate, this is an inherent part of the Windows Update process and if your free disk space percentage falls below a certain threshold, the compression will occur to ensure that your operating system still receives critical security updates. As a result, it's highly unlikely that Microsoft would afford us the opportunity to turn it off. On the other hand, this situation can be avoided relatively easily by ensuring that the operating system partition maintains a healthy amount of free disk space.
Aug 29, 2021 at 6:11 comment added joedotnot Can this auto compression be turned off permanently? I don't want this to happen by itself without my knowledge.
Jan 4, 2019 at 12:02 comment added Dizzley Hell, I didn't know about this behaviour until it happened to me today. I downloaded 2GB of ebooks and my C drive free space fell to about 10GB. The Advanced properties fixes mentioned here work for me.
Dec 7, 2018 at 14:43 history edited Run5k CC BY-SA 4.0
Minor wording improvement
Dec 7, 2018 at 5:19 history answered Run5k CC BY-SA 4.0